Beef Bourguignon II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
My new favorite dish! So good and fun to make :) made it 3 times in the last 2 weeks for dinner plus leftovers for lunches! It's that good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I liked this recipe. It requires a bit of work but it is worth the try. I added the bacon and used bouquet garni (fresh thyme,rosemary,and sage sprigs tied with cooking thread). I would recommend using the garni as it is aromatic and gives that little warming flavor to the dish. As I said, I think this is a good start up recipe it short cuts a bit but the result is as good as trying the longer version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This is my go you to recipe. The only change I made was to add more carrots because the flavors are melded together at the end. So scrumptious and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This could be a five star. I think. The flavor was there but the beef cubes were way over cooked. Tender......well yes ....but very dry! It smelled amazing cooking. The flavor was there but it wasn't a "WOW" flavor for me. My family liked it even after agreeing it was a little over cooked. I tried the recipe because I had half a bottle of wine leftover from making Chef John's Coq au vin (which I make all the time) and didn't want it to go to waste. I'm not sure if I will try this again but I'm giving it a 4 based on what it could be and that my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
REALLY good! I used 1 C of wine and 1 Can of broth as suggested. NO jarred onions. Added some fresh Rosemary and Parsley from my herb garden. Cooked at 225 covered in the oven for 3 hours. Then added fresh mushrooms and an additional 1/2 C of wine. Cooked uncovered for additional 30 minutes. Used top round as it was the least expensive cut of meat available.......sigh. Made with homemade French onion soup and French bread. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I did not think this was worth waiting 3 hours for! It may be the canned onions...I did not like the flavor of those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
No, this is definitely not your average casserole. I made half of this recipe as there are just the two of us and used sirloin strip steaks as I wanted a better cut of meat to go with that expensive wine. As written it's a 4 but with the addition of an extra 1 1/2 cups of liquids it a solid 5. I cooked this at the recommended 350 for the first 1 1/2 hours then decreased the temp to 300 as it seemed to be drying out. I kept as close to the recipe as possible with the exception of using Earth Balance instead of butter, dietary restraints, and fresh cremini mushrooms instead of caned. I also added extra carrots as they needed to be used. When I took the cover off the dutch oven for the final 30 minutes it looked really dry so I added 1 cup of beef broth and an additional 1/2 cup of wine. This dish comes together really quickly but taste like you spent the day making it. Definitely company worthy and it will be going into my favourites file. I served this with a loaf of crusty rye bread to soak up the last dredges. Thanks Teri for the super recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MMMICHELLE
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
My family enjoyed this dish, but I found it just so-so. I modified it and cooked it all in the crock pot. Nice for a winter's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was a big hit! I am making it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States