Beef Bourguignon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
So many complaints about this beautiful classic recipe. Of course it takes time (very obvious if you pay careful attention to the method) but if you enjoy classic French cooking it is worth it. This is actually a stew but a fancy one and this recipe one of the better. Thank you for reminding me to start making this again..............even better reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I'm a believer! I've always preached you shouldn't substitute, or use less than quality ingredients. This is a testament to that effect. My friends organized our own Diner en Blanc. To make it more authentic we agreed we should bring French inspired dishes. We had quiche, mussels in white wine broth, cordon bleu, and boeuf bourguignon, on top of other wonderful delectable dishes. I contributed the bourguignon. I was at first intimidated not just by the cost of all the ingredients, but by how laborious the process was. I had never made this French classic before but felt I could rise to the challenge. I also took the risk of preparing something I've never made for our premier Diner en Blanc. Foolish you say? I'd have to agree. But I took painstaking lengths to follow each direction in this recipe and I knew I was ok. I also used this opportunity to use my seldom used Le Creuset Dutch oven and casserole. I believe having these made a difference. The two day marinade actually worked out to be about 36 hours instead simply because I needed to get a move on the cooking. I also omitted the cognac because I don't drink it and couldn't justify buying it for the recipe. Plus the Julia Child recipe does not call for it. I had also doubled this recipe as there were going to be about 16 people attending. Apart from that everything went as planned. As soon as the casserole was in the oven I felt my shoulders relax some. About 20 minutes later I smelled this heavenly aroma coming fr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Fantastic! Worth the time and effort. Absolutely mouth watering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I made it as written. Very good. Time consuming but it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I used Cabernet Sauvignon (my hubby's hobby is winemaking) and instead of oven I used my Ninja 3-1 cooker. Reduced onion to 2 and when finished I served it oven oven baked potatoes wedges and salad. It was almost as good as my Aunt's who is French.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Great recipe but a bit fussy to cook. The marinade was great and the overall flavor was excellent. Next time I will likely cook the mushrooms with the other veggies and after the sauce is cooked down put it all in the crockpot to finish it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
A lot of work but worth every second!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is so good and completely worth the effort. I made it day before hosting a large dinner party and rewarmed slowly taking it out of fridge to get to room temp before reheating. It was a hit. I added some pearl onions in addition to sliced and used cubed pancetta since it was all I could find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I have always been a little daunted by Beef Bourguignon, but I took the plunge and made this recipe. I don't know what I was scared of, because it came together perfectly, and my entire family loved it, even those that claimed not to like recipes that included wine! I read a lot of reviews complaining that they dirtied a lot of dishes making it on the day of serving, and that the prep the day-of was more involved than they anticipated, but I didn't find either of these things to be a problem. There was plenty of time between steps to clean the dishes I'd used, and I allowed myself plenty of time for final-day cooking, so the entire meal was ready for dinner without any delays or after-meal cleanup. I served it with rosemary mashed potatoes and roasted asparagus spears in herbs-du-provence, with baked pears in an orange-maple sauce for dessert. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca LaMore

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as stated, except I didn't marinade the beef or vegetables. It turned out delicious, the meat was tender and full of flavor and the vegetables were great as well. I served it with some crusty french bread and dinner was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Beef Wellington

This elegant dinner party recipe is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States