Beef Bourguignon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This is my first time doing Boeuf Bourguignon, so I don't have much of a comparison. Overall, this recipe works well. First, this recipe suggest marinating all main ingredients before hands, while other recipes (including Julia Child) suggest saute first to brown the beef. I marinade overnight (instead of two days) and the aroma of the wine really saturate into the ingredients. But the downside of marinating before hands is that the beef does not brown well (even after padding dry), and will secrete lot of water when sautéed. Next time I will try saute first then add the wine while cooking. Second, I used an average bottle of Pinot Noir, since most recipe emphasis on the quality of the wine and mentioned Pinot Noir (as a cheaper substitute for a bottle of Burgundy). I don't know much about wine but Pinor Noir worked well. But I used much more than this recipe suggests: one whole bottle for four servings. Third, I suggest replacing the second half of onion by shallots, which will hold up better after cooking and gives a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
great outcome by following recipe. friends really enjoyed it. A lot of work and time required
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was a decent recipe - maybe a bit too much work for the depth of flavor but overall good. I think the reason that the reviews are all over the place is probably due to the different wines that everyone used. Since that wine contributed to the majority of the flavor, I would recommend getting a red wine that you enjoy - even if its not Burgundy. Also, about half way through the cooking time we needed to add more liquid so we added half water, half beef stock which might have changed the taste a bit. The meat was tender and we kind of layered it when we served it - rice at the bottom, then sauteed mushrooms, then the beef mixture. It was a good meal but I wish the flavor could have been more there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah.e.White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monica P.
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Pretty good. I've been wanting to make this for a while although it takes a long to cook its pretty simple to doit, just be pacient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
So many complaints about this beautiful classic recipe. Of course it takes time (very obvious if you pay careful attention to the method) but if you enjoy classic French cooking it is worth it. This is actually a stew but a fancy one and this recipe one of the better. Thank you for reminding me to start making this again..............even better reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I'm a believer! I've always preached you shouldn't substitute, or use less than quality ingredients. This is a testament to that effect. My friends organized our own Diner en Blanc. To make it more authentic we agreed we should bring French inspired dishes. We had quiche, mussels in white wine broth, cordon bleu, and boeuf bourguignon, on top of other wonderful delectable dishes. I contributed the bourguignon. I was at first intimidated not just by the cost of all the ingredients, but by how laborious the process was. I had never made this French classic before but felt I could rise to the challenge. I also took the risk of preparing something I've never made for our premier Diner en Blanc. Foolish you say? I'd have to agree. But I took painstaking lengths to follow each direction in this recipe and I knew I was ok. I also used this opportunity to use my seldom used Le Creuset Dutch oven and casserole. I believe having these made a difference. The two day marinade actually worked out to be about 36 hours instead simply because I needed to get a move on the cooking. I also omitted the cognac because I don't drink it and couldn't justify buying it for the recipe. Plus the Julia Child recipe does not call for it. I had also doubled this recipe as there were going to be about 16 people attending. Apart from that everything went as planned. As soon as the casserole was in the oven I felt my shoulders relax some. About 20 minutes later I smelled this heavenly aroma coming fr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Fantastic! Worth the time and effort. Absolutely mouth watering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I made it as written. Very good. Time consuming but it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I used Cabernet Sauvignon (my hubby's hobby is winemaking) and instead of oven I used my Ninja 3-1 cooker. Reduced onion to 2 and when finished I served it oven oven baked potatoes wedges and salad. It was almost as good as my Aunt's who is French.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Great recipe but a bit fussy to cook. The marinade was great and the overall flavor was excellent. Next time I will likely cook the mushrooms with the other veggies and after the sauce is cooked down put it all in the crockpot to finish it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States