Beef, Bean and Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Wow this was amazingly good. Really easy for one thing. We don't have Great Northern beans here in Australia as far as I know so did a search on them & since they are a white bean I figured cannelloni beans would do. So I did the soak them overnight method rather than use cans. (have the rest in the freezer) Anyway made the soup pretty much as is except no carraway seeds cos I didn't have any. Will find some for next time though. This is a hearty soup & tomorrows left overs should be better of course! Can't wait! :-) Oh & I didn't use a really cheap stewing meat either cos DH doesn't like meat so used some a bit better & it cooked up beautifully. A must recipe for winter! Will make again for sure. Oh & for the non meat eaters you can do it as easily without the meat in it & use vegetable stock instead. I think it would be as good. & save some money too! Put in a couple more potatoes & carrots & you'd be set with a great vegie meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
fantastic dinner for those cold nights!! everything in the one pot, less washing up, less time to prepare - perfect for busy moms and dads!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Excellent flavor! I didn't have any caraway seeds but this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Okemos, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This recipe is a keeper. Here are the modifications that I made: 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes and less water, closer to 1/2 cup of barley, a 19 ounce can of beans (I've used different kinds), 1/2 teaspoon of oregano, 1/2 basil, 1/2 rosemary and no caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I would have given it a much higher rating if it didn't have the caraway. It was too overpowering for my familiy's taste. I might try it again without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brunswick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
This was a very easy, very tasty recipe, though I'd call it a hearty soup rather than a stew. I made four significant substitutions, and it still worked out well. I'll definitely try the original another time. I didn't have stew beef on hand, so I used a well-trimmed pork tenderloin (cheaper here than beef). I used a can of butter beans instead of great northern beans, and I used 1/4 tsp whole cumin and 1/8 tsp cayanne pepper instead of the rosmary and caraway. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This recipe is very good! I was concerned that the stew beef would be tough, but it wasn't. About the only thing I would change is to add more stew beef to it. Otherwise It has an excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
This stew was flavorful. I liked it the only thing is the meat did not come out very tender. Other than that a good stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
Very good flavor... the broth is heavenly! I think I'll include some frozen mixed vegetables next time I make it for a little more color and variety. Also more barley. But otherwise it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Amazing! This was the first time I cooked with barley or made a stew and my whole family loved it!! I will most defintely make this again. Next time I would add some cayenne pepper and coriander to spice it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States