Beef, Bean and Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Just what I was looking for! Some changes of course; I used ground beef instead of cubed, since I already had some. I also tripled the barley and used pearl barley instead of quick cooking (whatever that is). And I used whole peeled tomatoes (still from a can). I expect it's not quite what everyone would do, but I love love looked it. Highly recommended and I suspect I'll be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Rast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
My husband and I really like this recipe. Only made a couple of changes. I didn't have caraway seeds and I used more stock than water. It was quite tasty regardless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Bliss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This was delicious with some minor changes. I doubled all of the spices except for the caraway seeds (kept those at 1/4 tsp) and omitted the salt. I didn't have any cabbage so I used celery instead. And I only had one can of beef broth, so I used chicken broth also. I used 1.5 cups of water and for the rest of the liquid I used chicken broth. With my changes I think it is five stars. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Very good, hearty cross between a soup and a stew. I added some more of the listed spices and salt as other reviewers suggested but left out the carraway seeds since I didn't have any on hand. I also added a can of Cannellini beans. The only big differences for me was after bringing the soup/stew to a boil, I had to let it simmer for twice the said time. My husband and I really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Okay. Nothing exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAFEMME83
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Great concept..but very bland. I added extra spices and salt...but still just ok. I made it in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAFEMME83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
It's a good recipe - especially when you are down to a couple of carrots and potatoes in the frige. I did add a lot more herbs than it called for. I left out the caraway seeds and used Italian sausage instead of beef which gave it more of a Mediterranean taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
We loved this stew! It was just a little bland, so here are the changes I made: I doubled the spices (pepper, oregano, basil, rosemary, and caraway). I used a full cup of barley and added enough water to compensate. I used pre-shredded cabbage, about 2 c. packed. Then all I did was brown the beef and onion together, then tossed everything else in a (large) crockpot and cooked it on low all day. Super easy and turned out great! I also added a can of garbanzo beans just for fun. My husband and I both think that a can of sweet corn would be a great addition as well -- I'm adding that next time. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This was great will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHARONN
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Very tasty recipe. I used a can of mixed beans instead of great northern beans, and couldn't find quick-cooking barley, so par-boiled pot barley before adding. Next time I would use 2 lbs. of meat. I cooked for about an hour and 20 minutes to get the meat nice and tender, and reduce the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States