Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I just cut up the beef in bite size pieces and brown it then either make the soup in a pot on the stove, or dump it all in a crockport. I don't add the sugar, and I use beef or vegetable canned broth sometimes you need to add more water if cooking on the stove, and adjust the seasonings if needed to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
made from start to finish in the crock pot using up the last of venison in the freeze. Venison can be a bit tricky but using this method it was tender and moist. Added about 3 oz of tomato sauce also taking up space in my fridge. All in all good recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Excellent! I made this for my MIL & she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Yummy. Like other reviewers said, the proportion of meat to the rest of the soup is pretty. It is delicious but I think for my budget I will decrease the amount of meat next time. I did cube the meat to cut down on cooking time and this worked out well. I also used a cheaper cut off beef and it worked out great. Great add leftovers but you will need more stock to replace the water absorbed by the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
EXCELLENT! I used left-over roast, added some Worcestershire sauce, basil, and oregano. I will definitely make this again. Thank you MARGOC for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Tasted so delicious. I did it in a pressure cooker and it was done in about 30 - 40 minutes. Browned the beef first then removed it, sautéed the onion, carrots and celery with all the spices to wake up their flavor and added all the other ingredients. I used a can of tomato paste instead of stewed tomatoes and popped the lid on and voila!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
make it in the crock, add barley last hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by judy2304
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I made this soup tonight, and as usual, I made a large quantity for freezing. I'm not one to measure much, but I made basically 4 times the recipe. I used about 3 cups of homemade reduced beef stock, 12 cups of water, 12 boullion cubes, 4 12 oz. pkg. frozen mixed veggies, 1 1/2 large onions chopped, 3 tbsp. sugar, 3 tsp. ground pepper, 1 tbsp. sea salt, 8 large fresh carrots sliced, 9 frozen garden tomatoes peeled and cubed, 12 stalks of celery sliced, and 1/2 large head of cabbage chopped. I didn't saute the veggies, but cooked them until tender in the broth mixture. Then I added the leftovers of 3 cubed roasts that amounted to about 6-7 lbs. The soup and broth are wonderful. I will freeze it in meal size portions and add precooked barley when it is used to prevent the barley from getting mushy. I soak and cook all grains in a rice cooker, and then package and freeze them for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy2304

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I saute the vegetables and then throw everything in a crockpot and cook on low for 8 hours. We like it better without the roast but if you do put it in I would recommend half the amount. It was more like a stew than a soup with 3 pounds in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 714) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States