Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Loved this hearty vegetable-filled soup! I agree with the other reviewers who suggest that it needs more seasoning. I always make as-is the first time, but I added some extra seasoning at the end to suit our families' taste, including about 3 T. Worchestershire Sauce. I think next time I would either do it all in the crockpot (low 10 hours?) or all in the soup pot. But it is wonderful enough to make it into my "I Love to Cook Book"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Excellent soup. We used our home canned stewed tomatoes which had onions and garlic in them. We also used our home canned carrots and frozen baby lima beans in place of the frozen mixed vegetables. Other than that, this recipe gets 4 thumbs up --- my boyfriend and myself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Maybe it was just what I made, but not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Beef barley soup is my husband's favorite. I put the tomatoes in the food processor for a second so that there were no chunks. He LOVED it and it will be my go to recipe when he wants soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
We absolutely loved this recipe with a couple minor changes. I used a 2 lb. sirloin tip roast, a bit drier, less greasy but a still a lot of flavor. I substituted frozen green beans for the mixed veggies and added extra carrots. I also used 4 cups of beef broth (low sodium) and mixed 2 bouillon cubes with 2 cups water. Our house smelled wonderful!! Next time I may add a bit more barley, potatoes or parsnips. So many ways to add to an already great soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Very yummy but not enough barley, I added more the next day. I didn't add the tomatoes and I did add bouquet garni because there wasn't any seasoning in this. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
While it tasted good, this recipe was a pain in the neck (being nice!) to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
What a totally backward recipe!! Not very time-saving and/or convient, and certainly not well written at all! I certainly did not expect this from Allrecipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I think this has the potential to be amazing. It's a little tasteless as it is, but more spices (especially some hot sauce) make it much better. And please, don't use frozen carrots and frozen celery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This recipe is good as is but it wasn't great. There was not nearly enough barley for my taste and the tomato was a bit over powering. I think if I make it again, I would triple the barley and I would either half the amount of tomatoes or omit them all together. I like a more beefy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 710) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States