Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
This was quick and good. I subbed a bag of peas and carrots for the chopped carrots, used a drained can of petite diced tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes, left out the sugar and pepper and doubled the broth. Very filling soup that is good for calorie counters (like me...haha).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Excellent! Made for my sick Mom and it was the first thing she ate in days. Can add V8 or tomato juice if you like it thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Add extra barley - much better the second day (or more)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Very good recipe! I used sirloin tips for the meat. My mother and girlfriend said it almost as good as their moms and that is saying a lot .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I used beef stock and beef broth and it had a nice meaty flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
It was pretty good. Everyone loved it. I just added 3 extra bay leaves and doubled the barely but I felt like it needed a little kick or zing for me to give it 5 stars. I'll keep experimenting but this recipe is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This is excellent! Did it on the stove; great flavored soup. Will be making again and again! rjb Jan 2015
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gao Vang
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Simple yet flavorful! I didn't have barley so I replaced it with orzo. Works perfectly! I opt out the bouillon and used beef stock. Tweaked it with pepper flakes. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gao Vang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Made for my husband and parents and it was delish!! The roast beef really makes it. Don't skip that part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Matt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 747) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States