Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I'm looking for a london broil recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Liptrot
Home Town: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
OVEN VERSION. I needed to make a huge amount because the men in my family eat like football players so even my largest crockpot would have only lasted a day... maybe...LOL.... So I made it in my large Magnalite Dutch oven. I put everything in at once except for the barley and salt, added lots of veggies, worcestershire sauce, baby Yukon potatoes and mushrooms, substituted the water for beef broth and covered it with two layers of foil and then put on the lid. Placed it in the oven on 200 degrees for 5 hours before I even took a peak. My house smelled marvelous! Overall I let it cook about 6 hours on low in the oven then added the barley and salt and retuned it to the oven for another hour. It turned out fabulous and hearty. The beef was super tender and flavorful. I think adding the Worcestershire sauce and beef broth really made a difference. My football eating men love it because it's chocked full of stuff.... My son said it's not wimpy soup but a full meal...maybe there'll be some left in the morning for work.:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Did the 10 hr option as someone else suggested. Pulled it together about noon, cutting roast into cubes and not using oil to cook other ingredients. I did add a few shakes of garlic and basil. Put all in but barley. Put on low about 10 pm. When I got up in am added barley, cooked for another 20-30 min and removed from heat. I have an awesome dinner for tonight. Have time to make some bread and watch football.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Too much barley, which swells up as it sits. Also, the stew meat was not tender enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Perfect for a cold night!! Add chopped fresh parsley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Very tasty. I made this recipe exactly as originally written and enjoyed it. Make sure to use a big enough sauté soup pot when you add all the ingredients together. I did not at first and ended up with a lot of pots and clean. First soup for us this Fall and we really enjoyed it. Makes a lot of soup so you could definitely freeze some or share some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I got rave reviews from the family when serving this soup! I followed the method of dumping all ingredients, except for the barley and salt into the crock pot, then adding barley and salt at the end until cooked. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I used leftover steak and threw everything in a pot (I used a 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes instead of same size chopped stewed tomatoes) and let it boil for an hour then let it simmer on medium-low heat for another hour or more until it was time to eat. It was delicious. I served it with homemade corn bread. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I followed the instructions as written, and although it might have been more work than other reviewers have posted, the end result was delicious. I am hesitant to do the other way (put it all together in the crock pot) since I was able to remove so much fat that otherwise would have made its way in the soup. My only comment would be to increase the about. Of water to 5 cups, otherwise the remainder was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I look forward to winter, this is my favorite comfort food. It's so healthy and taste wonderful. I occasionally change it up little bits every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 727) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States