Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I used leftover steak and threw everything in a pot (I used a 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes instead of same size chopped stewed tomatoes) and let it boil for an hour then let it simmer on medium-low heat for another hour or more until it was time to eat. It was delicious. I served it with homemade corn bread. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I followed the instructions as written, and although it might have been more work than other reviewers have posted, the end result was delicious. I am hesitant to do the other way (put it all together in the crock pot) since I was able to remove so much fat that otherwise would have made its way in the soup. My only comment would be to increase the about. Of water to 5 cups, otherwise the remainder was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I look forward to winter, this is my favorite comfort food. It's so healthy and taste wonderful. I occasionally change it up little bits every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This was pretty yummy soup. I added in some lentils and extra veggies, lots of freshly cracked black pepper and Himalayan pink salt. Great lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
It was okay, just needed something. I don't know what
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pauline
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Yum! I followed every step of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pauline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Very Good! I cook the chuck roast until falling apart and shred it into the soup. You can use any vegies you like (green bell pepper adds a unique flavor) but I always use the 4 cups beef broth and stewed tomatoes per recipe. I do use 3/4 cup barley as another person suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Pretty good flavor. Just cut up the chuck roast into smaller pieces and cook it with everything at once in the crockpot on high for about 4 hours to make it faster. Can also use frozen carrots and onions instead of fresh to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Norma V
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Everyone tweaks it to their liking, here's what I did! I browned 1.5 lbs of stew beef, half an onion and tbsp of Worcestershire sauce. Then I made 2 cups of wylers beef boullion/2 cubes and threw it all in the crock pot and set it to high. I also added pepper, half the can of stewed tomatoes and two chopped up garlic cloves. I cooked it for about 3 hours adding another dash of Worcestershire in between and the bay leaf. I cut up all the veggies, 4 carrots, 4 celery stalks, 1/4 cabbage, handful of green beans and broccoli, no frozen veggies. I sauted them all in 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil for about 6 mins and prepared another 4 cups of wylers beef boullion. I fished out the stewed tomatoes that didn't fall apart, cut them up and threw everything in the crock. I also threw in half a fresh jalapeño, another bay leaf and a whole garlic and a cup of pearled barley. This soup is so yummy had to write my review! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Reduced the beef by 1/2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 720) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States