Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Oh my gosh. SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I felt there was barely any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Sautéed veggies and stew meat together then added the rest. I always add a can of tomato paste as well to thicken it and make it taste a little more tomato like. Instead of a bag of mixed veggies I add a can of green beans and a few potatoes. Turns out wonderful! YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktlynn01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This was a delicious soup, and perfect for a cold fall day. I diced the meat into cubes from the start, and added the tomatoes, bay leaf, water, and bouillon cubes too. About two hours later, I added the onion and carrots, as well as the mixed veggies. An hour before I served- I added the celery and some salt. I used Quaker quick cook barley and cooked it seperately, and just added it in the last 20 minutes before serving. Total cooking time on high in the crock pot was about 5 hours. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
ive used this recipe as a base to go from..but this is by far the best one to do this with!! I don't put in any frozen veggies or tomatoes or sugar..i use carrots, celery, red onion an add 2 pkgs of the onion soup mix, lotsa pepper, lil paprika..excellent soup! thanks fer posting! definitely a go to-er..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Soup came out great. I followed a couple suggestions of other reviewers and used beef broth instead of bullion cubes. I also used stew meat but I think when I make this next time I will definitely use chuck roast, the stew meat was fine but I think chuck roast would add a nicer flavor. I added a little garlic powder and also added some cubed potatoes. Put everything except the barley in my crock pot on low for about 13 hours (let it cook all day while at work). I cooked the barley separate and added it to the bowl then ladled the soup over it, I also made egg noodles (husband prefers noodles) and did the same thing put noodles in bowl and ladled soup over it. Served soup with crunchy hot French bread. Its definitely worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I reduced the veggies and barley by about half and the beef to 8oz (leftover roast)because I only wanted supper and lunch. I ended up having to add all of the tomatoes and broth. It is still way too thick for soup, in my opinion. I think I'm going to freeze it as is to save space and add broth when I actually use it. I used the stove top method because I was trying to make a small amount and the slow cooker instructions seemed off. I think there is liquid missing, but maybe a 3lb roast really does release enough liquid to cook a cup of barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
My family LOVES this, and i feel good about it because of all the hidden veggies. I chop the onion, celery, and extra carrots so they aren't as visible for the little kids. Better than any pot roast dish we have ever had. I add extra barley to make more like stew and it gives me more servings. Thinking about adding shredded cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKinney_88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I used stew beef instead of roast and I did what others suggested and put it all in the slow cooker and then added the barley. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Great soup! I love how easy it is to adapt to what you have in your fridge that needs to be eaten. Looking forward to making this often this winter with some homemade biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 715) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States