Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This was excellent but I ended up adding a can of tomato soup because it didn't quite have the red tomato-y flavor that I like so much in vegetable beef soup. Turned out amazing! Have already made it twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This was good! I thought the recipe was clearly written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Excellent, I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
For my Gluten-Free family, I tried Quinoa instead of Barley. Quinoa is so mild and small that it basically just dissappeared into the soup. I followed the recipe, but left the Quinoa out until the last 20 minutes of the dish, when it's burbling on the stove. I also ended up adding 2 more cups of broth and water. I recommend this soup. It's a really hearty, good tasting soup that is great for winter. I think next time, though, I'll use rice and have less meat .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This was great! We used a 3 lb chuck roast, trimmed some fat and cut into cubes. Not real small. Doubled the barley because I love barley. We did put everything in the slow cooker (10 hours) except the barley right from the start. Added the barley with about 45 minutes to go and stired the stew at that time. I used broth and didnt have enough so i put in some chicken broth. We had spagetti squash parmisian as the vegetable . That slow cooker is great. I never would have done this on the stove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acorn2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union Pier, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is one of my all-time favorite recipes. I make it in the crockpot on low during an 8 hr. work day. I throw everything except the barley into the crockpot in the morning before I head to work. When I get home I add the barley about 20-30 minutes before I serve dinner. Leftovers are great too. Easy and delicious. Thank you for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This is a great base recipe . I followed the stovetop directions. I browned the cubed chuck roast and seasoned it with Emeril's Essence , fresh ground pepper and Worcestershire sauce. When the meat was browned I added a 1/2 cup of burgundy wine and deglazed the pot and let it cook with the meat until the liquid is reduced by about half. This is a great step to do to add real flavor to the soup. No need to remove the meat from the pot , just add in the veggies and go ahead with the rest of the directions. I added garlic, and didn't use the water or bouillon- used 5 (14 ounce) cans of beef broth instead. Also added 1 tsp dried oregano and 2 tsp dried basil . When I added in the frozen mixed veggies also threw in some fresh minced parsley.This was so flavorful and the family loved it. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Fulk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Great soup and super easy! I put everything in the slow cooker, plus a dash of Worcestershire, except the barley and cooked it for 7 hours then added the barley for 20 minutes and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Sorry but I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I changed and added to this recipe so much that it is not the same. Still I gave it just 2 stars because the proportions are all wrong for me. I needed about 10 cups of water for the amount of meat and vegetables, which I didn't change. I used 1 full cup of barley and no tomatoes, which was my preference. Since I cooked in on stove top, I can't attest to the amount of cooking time, but even then I simmered the beef for over 3 hours until it was tender. If I had added frozen vegetables, I'm sure I would have had a stew instead of soup, even with the amount of extra broth I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 745) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States