Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This was good! I thought the recipe was clearly written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Excellent, I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
For my Gluten-Free family, I tried Quinoa instead of Barley. Quinoa is so mild and small that it basically just dissappeared into the soup. I followed the recipe, but left the Quinoa out until the last 20 minutes of the dish, when it's burbling on the stove. I also ended up adding 2 more cups of broth and water. I recommend this soup. It's a really hearty, good tasting soup that is great for winter. I think next time, though, I'll use rice and have less meat .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This was great! We used a 3 lb chuck roast, trimmed some fat and cut into cubes. Not real small. Doubled the barley because I love barley. We did put everything in the slow cooker (10 hours) except the barley right from the start. Added the barley with about 45 minutes to go and stired the stew at that time. I used broth and didnt have enough so i put in some chicken broth. We had spagetti squash parmisian as the vegetable . That slow cooker is great. I never would have done this on the stove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acorn2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union Pier, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is one of my all-time favorite recipes. I make it in the crockpot on low during an 8 hr. work day. I throw everything except the barley into the crockpot in the morning before I head to work. When I get home I add the barley about 20-30 minutes before I serve dinner. Leftovers are great too. Easy and delicious. Thank you for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This is a great base recipe . I followed the stovetop directions. I browned the cubed chuck roast and seasoned it with Emeril's Essence , fresh ground pepper and Worcestershire sauce. When the meat was browned I added a 1/2 cup of burgundy wine and deglazed the pot and let it cook with the meat until the liquid is reduced by about half. This is a great step to do to add real flavor to the soup. No need to remove the meat from the pot , just add in the veggies and go ahead with the rest of the directions. I added garlic, and didn't use the water or bouillon- used 5 (14 ounce) cans of beef broth instead. Also added 1 tsp dried oregano and 2 tsp dried basil . When I added in the frozen mixed veggies also threw in some fresh minced parsley.This was so flavorful and the family loved it. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badkitty1116

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Great soup and super easy! I put everything in the slow cooker, plus a dash of Worcestershire, except the barley and cooked it for 7 hours then added the barley for 20 minutes and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Sorry but I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I changed and added to this recipe so much that it is not the same. Still I gave it just 2 stars because the proportions are all wrong for me. I needed about 10 cups of water for the amount of meat and vegetables, which I didn't change. I used 1 full cup of barley and no tomatoes, which was my preference. Since I cooked in on stove top, I can't attest to the amount of cooking time, but even then I simmered the beef for over 3 hours until it was tender. If I had added frozen vegetables, I'm sure I would have had a stew instead of soup, even with the amount of extra broth I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made this last night! I went to work and let my roast cook low and slow, came home and the rest was a breeze! I had everything already home to make this, except I only had a can of whole tomatoes instead of stewed, which still turned out great! My husband and I loved it and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 725) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States