Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I absolutely loved this dish!!! I was confused by the frozen veggies after cutting up all those fresh ones. So next time I think I will use all fresh produce. I followed everything exactly as stated and was really impressed! Mmmmm can't wait to reheat some for lunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vababe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Tasty and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Made this recipe today in the slow cooker today. I used diced tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes and used beef broth instead of bouillon cubes and water. I omitted the sugar and the salt. It turned out fabulous. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Absolutely the best vegetable beef soup I have ever made!! I stayed pretty true to the recipe. I had a hot grill available the night before I was going to make this soup, so I seasoned the chuck roast with salt & pepper and seared it on both sides on the grill. I placed the roast in the bottom of the crock pot and added all ingredients except the barley and placed in refrigerator overnight. I left the carrots & celery in larger chunks so they would not break down. I placed the crock in the pot and set it to low before going to work the next morning. When I got home about 9½ hours later, I removed the chuck (it was in 4 large pieces) and added the barley. While the barley was cooking, I shredded the beef. It was cooked perfectly, fork tender and moist, but not falling apart and the vegetable in the larger chunks were tender without disintegrating. I added the beef back to the pot and dinner was ready! Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Delicious! One of the best beef vegetable soups I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Followed recipe exactly. Husband and picky eater son liked. Daughter and I did not. If I make it again, I will omit stewed tomatoes since daughter and I do not like cooked tomatoes or tomato saucy stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I love this type of stew - very hearty, I make a lot of recipes that are variations on this recipe. Instead of using frozen mixed vegetables, I use fresh carrots and tomatoes from the farmers market. Also, I always add fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was very good. Very homey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Excellent beef soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Bacliff, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 710) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States