Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Too much barley, which swells up as it sits. Also, the stew meat was not tender enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Perfect for a cold night!! Add chopped fresh parsley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Very tasty. I made this recipe exactly as originally written and enjoyed it. Make sure to use a big enough sauté soup pot when you add all the ingredients together. I did not at first and ended up with a lot of pots and clean. First soup for us this Fall and we really enjoyed it. Makes a lot of soup so you could definitely freeze some or share some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I got rave reviews from the family when serving this soup! I followed the method of dumping all ingredients, except for the barley and salt into the crock pot, then adding barley and salt at the end until cooked. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I used leftover steak and threw everything in a pot (I used a 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes instead of same size chopped stewed tomatoes) and let it boil for an hour then let it simmer on medium-low heat for another hour or more until it was time to eat. It was delicious. I served it with homemade corn bread. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I followed the instructions as written, and although it might have been more work than other reviewers have posted, the end result was delicious. I am hesitant to do the other way (put it all together in the crock pot) since I was able to remove so much fat that otherwise would have made its way in the soup. My only comment would be to increase the about. Of water to 5 cups, otherwise the remainder was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I look forward to winter, this is my favorite comfort food. It's so healthy and taste wonderful. I occasionally change it up little bits every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This was pretty yummy soup. I added in some lentils and extra veggies, lots of freshly cracked black pepper and Himalayan pink salt. Great lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
It was okay, just needed something. I don't know what
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pauline
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Yum! I followed every step of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pauline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 725) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States