Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
really yummy! I followed the recipe except I didn't add the tomatoes. I also added more water because I added two bags of frozen vegetables. I added the frozen veggies about an hour or two before I served the soup! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I took advice from other reviews and my own personal preferences and did the following: used 2# beef stew meat & cut it up into smaller pieces, used beef broth instead of water & bouillon, omitted the frozen vegetables, used diced tomatoes instead of stewed, added worcestershire sauce and a couple cloves of garlic - threw everything in the crockpot and let it cook for 9 hours. I put the barley in about 1hr and 20mins before I served. This was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I changed this just a bit but used all the same ingredients,first i floured 2.5lbs round steak in seasoned flour (s&p, montreal steak seasoning) browned it in a bit of oil added the chopped onion then a carton of beef stock, plus 3 cups water and 3 tbs beef bouillion powder.1 15 oz can tomato sauce. Brought that to boil reduced to simmer added a bag of frozen green beans, a bag of frozen sliced carrots and simmered for 20 min. (Our beef is locally grown and this one is very tender even the round steak). I added the potatoes about 20 minutes later and continued simmering til everything tender added a bag of frozen peas ten minutes before serving and heated through. Served with rolls. Thank you very much it was delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSAZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imlay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I just cut up the beef in bite size pieces and brown it then either make the soup in a pot on the stove, or dump it all in a crockport. I don't add the sugar, and I use beef or vegetable canned broth sometimes you need to add more water if cooking on the stove, and adjust the seasonings if needed to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
made from start to finish in the crock pot using up the last of venison in the freeze. Venison can be a bit tricky but using this method it was tender and moist. Added about 3 oz of tomato sauce also taking up space in my fridge. All in all good recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Excellent! I made this for my MIL & she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Yummy. Like other reviewers said, the proportion of meat to the rest of the soup is pretty. It is delicious but I think for my budget I will decrease the amount of meat next time. I did cube the meat to cut down on cooking time and this worked out well. I also used a cheaper cut off beef and it worked out great. Great add leftovers but you will need more stock to replace the water absorbed by the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
EXCELLENT! I used left-over roast, added some Worcestershire sauce, basil, and oregano. I will definitely make this again. Thank you MARGOC for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Tasted so delicious. I did it in a pressure cooker and it was done in about 30 - 40 minutes. Browned the beef first then removed it, sautéed the onion, carrots and celery with all the spices to wake up their flavor and added all the other ingredients. I used a can of tomato paste instead of stewed tomatoes and popped the lid on and voila!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 727) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States