Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Very yummy but not enough barley, I added more the next day. I didn't add the tomatoes and I did add bouquet garni because there wasn't any seasoning in this. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
While it tasted good, this recipe was a pain in the neck (being nice!) to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
What a totally backward recipe!! Not very time-saving and/or convient, and certainly not well written at all! I certainly did not expect this from Allrecipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I think this has the potential to be amazing. It's a little tasteless as it is, but more spices (especially some hot sauce) make it much better. And please, don't use frozen carrots and frozen celery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This recipe is good as is but it wasn't great. There was not nearly enough barley for my taste and the tomato was a bit over powering. I think if I make it again, I would triple the barley and I would either half the amount of tomatoes or omit them all together. I like a more beefy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Great hearty soup. Next time I'll use one cup of Barley - 1/2 cup just wasn't enough. My husband loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Best ever and the only change was to add my own frozen tomatoes rather than a can of stewed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Recipe was good as written, but to make it even better I threw everything but the barley in the crockpot, added a spash of worcestershire, and cooked it about 6 hours, then added the barley and cooked another 45 minutes. I did use stew meat instead of a roast, and diced tomatoes instead of stew, but it was easy and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
really yummy! I followed the recipe except I didn't add the tomatoes. I also added more water because I added two bags of frozen vegetables. I added the frozen veggies about an hour or two before I served the soup! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I took advice from other reviews and my own personal preferences and did the following: used 2# beef stew meat & cut it up into smaller pieces, used beef broth instead of water & bouillon, omitted the frozen vegetables, used diced tomatoes instead of stewed, added worcestershire sauce and a couple cloves of garlic - threw everything in the crockpot and let it cook for 9 hours. I put the barley in about 1hr and 20mins before I served. This was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 725) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States