Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Soup came out great. I followed a couple suggestions of other reviewers and used beef broth instead of bullion cubes. I also used stew meat but I think when I make this next time I will definitely use chuck roast, the stew meat was fine but I think chuck roast would add a nicer flavor. I added a little garlic powder and also added some cubed potatoes. Put everything except the barley in my crock pot on low for about 13 hours (let it cook all day while at work). I cooked the barley separate and added it to the bowl then ladled the soup over it, I also made egg noodles (husband prefers noodles) and did the same thing put noodles in bowl and ladled soup over it. Served soup with crunchy hot French bread. Its definitely worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I reduced the veggies and barley by about half and the beef to 8oz (leftover roast)because I only wanted supper and lunch. I ended up having to add all of the tomatoes and broth. It is still way too thick for soup, in my opinion. I think I'm going to freeze it as is to save space and add broth when I actually use it. I used the stove top method because I was trying to make a small amount and the slow cooker instructions seemed off. I think there is liquid missing, but maybe a 3lb roast really does release enough liquid to cook a cup of barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
My family LOVES this, and i feel good about it because of all the hidden veggies. I chop the onion, celery, and extra carrots so they aren't as visible for the little kids. Better than any pot roast dish we have ever had. I add extra barley to make more like stew and it gives me more servings. Thinking about adding shredded cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKinney_88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I used stew beef instead of roast and I did what others suggested and put it all in the slow cooker and then added the barley. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Great soup! I love how easy it is to adapt to what you have in your fridge that needs to be eaten. Looking forward to making this often this winter with some homemade biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I have been making this soup for years. I use stew meat also and put it all together from the beginning except for the barley. I add that the last hour of cooking time. Very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This was decent but I changed a few things. I used Better than Bouillon Beef au jus starter because I find it has a beefier taste than their plain beef flavor. I also used all beef stock instead of water and I added more carrots, celery and two very large yams. Next time I will saute the celery and carrots because even after more than 10 hours cooking time in the crockpot (including 1.5 hours at high) they were still a bit crunchy. I also would add a leek or two -- also sauteed first -- if I make it again. All the juice was absorbed after one night in the fridge and it became beef barley stew. Not sure how to avoid this -- more liquid I guess. Overall it was okay --- I think it needed a bit stronger beef flavor (maybe more bouillon?) I even used a pinch of Brown's gravy starter but it wasn't as rich in flavor as I hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Yummy and filling. Serve with rice to make it even more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Wonderful! I used my own stock from shank bones. I also didn't have stewed tomatoes, so I used crushed instead. We like to chew our soup so I think I might add some cubed sweet potatoes and shredded cabbage or Kale next time. We'll be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I had cubed beef. With 2 pots I mixed flour, salt n pepper in a bag and shook meat until coated. I seared in a few tbls of oil and set aside. Added 4 cups of broth to pot, scraped bits off and added beef. cook for 60 mins, add barley, bay n 1c water and cooked for 45 mins. Sauteed veggies in another pot like in step 2. followed recipe using only 2 cups of broth. when veggies were cooked i added 1tsp parsley, basil, and oregano with beef barley mixture. Simmer, covered for 15 mins. The meat stayed together yet cut easily with my spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 720) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States