Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
As with many others, I took this recipe as a base. Used 3 lbs Stew meat, which I seasoned (Penzey's Turkish blend), dusted with flour and browned. After every batch of browning I deglazed the pot with water and added that to the crockpot; chopped three large carrots, 3 large celery stalks, and one small onion. Added one can of 28 oz stewed tomatoes (undrained), salt and pepper, and then mixed in some Italian seasoning for flavor. Cooked on low for 6 1/2 hours then added 1/2 cup Quick Barley and continued to cook for 15 minutes. At the very end I added 2 cups frozen veggie blend I partial cooked in microwave. Served with cornbread and it was great and super easy since most of the work done ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
SOO YUMMY! I adjusted the amount of meat though--we are borderline vegetarians and rarely eat beef. Halfed the amount of beef, and doubled everything else. Did it on the stovetop with the directions listed under the recipe in the editor's note. I through in a little garlic as well. The barley that I purchased was 10 min cooking time (quick cooking barley) so I added that at the end for the last 12 min. Had to use Stew Meat because that is what I found at Trader Joe's. SO GOOD!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhusgen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
My daughter's favorite!! We like a little basil and oregano in it, but it's amazing! Just use good beef...it makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Excellent recipe - I followed the advice of other reviewers and used petite diced tomatoes instead of stewed and beef broth instead of water. I also omitted the frozen mixed vegetables and put everything into the crock pot right from the start. Definitely a keeper - the family loved the barley. Thank you, Margoc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
have this many times, love this on a cold winter day or evening, the only thing I do first is cut up stew meat, and add a little flour and brown the beef before putting in crock pot, 2nd change I use all fresh vegetables, 3rd use beef stock instead of water and bullion, tried it with the sugar this last time, and it did balance out the acidity of the tomato's, yummy! gonna make it all winter long, soooo gooood!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
needs to have the broth not water, double or triple the barley yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I used this recipe with these substitutions. I used 4 cups canned beef broth instead of water and added two russet potatoes cut up and l can of corn--crazy for corn and it was delicious. Foodie Carole Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Try cookinh carrots and celery for 10 min before adding to stew. Will save time also. I always par boil my veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I made this stew to take on a hunting trip. I added cabbage and potatoes. It was the best beef stew I have made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Very easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 727) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States