Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe as is and added 3 cloves pressed garlic. I think that if you throw everything in the crockpot, it will come out more like a stew or pot roast. When I make it again, I will reduce the amount of sugar by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Excellent! Added a splash of red wine, parsley flakes and a pinch of thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This was excellent but I ended up adding a can of tomato soup because it didn't quite have the red tomato-y flavor that I like so much in vegetable beef soup. Turned out amazing! Have already made it twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This was good! I thought the recipe was clearly written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Excellent, I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
For my Gluten-Free family, I tried Quinoa instead of Barley. Quinoa is so mild and small that it basically just dissappeared into the soup. I followed the recipe, but left the Quinoa out until the last 20 minutes of the dish, when it's burbling on the stove. I also ended up adding 2 more cups of broth and water. I recommend this soup. It's a really hearty, good tasting soup that is great for winter. I think next time, though, I'll use rice and have less meat .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This was great! We used a 3 lb chuck roast, trimmed some fat and cut into cubes. Not real small. Doubled the barley because I love barley. We did put everything in the slow cooker (10 hours) except the barley right from the start. Added the barley with about 45 minutes to go and stired the stew at that time. I used broth and didnt have enough so i put in some chicken broth. We had spagetti squash parmisian as the vegetable . That slow cooker is great. I never would have done this on the stove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acorn2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union Pier, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is one of my all-time favorite recipes. I make it in the crockpot on low during an 8 hr. work day. I throw everything except the barley into the crockpot in the morning before I head to work. When I get home I add the barley about 20-30 minutes before I serve dinner. Leftovers are great too. Easy and delicious. Thank you for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This is a great base recipe . I followed the stovetop directions. I browned the cubed chuck roast and seasoned it with Emeril's Essence , fresh ground pepper and Worcestershire sauce. When the meat was browned I added a 1/2 cup of burgundy wine and deglazed the pot and let it cook with the meat until the liquid is reduced by about half. This is a great step to do to add real flavor to the soup. No need to remove the meat from the pot , just add in the veggies and go ahead with the rest of the directions. I added garlic, and didn't use the water or bouillon- used 5 (14 ounce) cans of beef broth instead. Also added 1 tsp dried oregano and 2 tsp dried basil . When I added in the frozen mixed veggies also threw in some fresh minced parsley.This was so flavorful and the family loved it. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badkitty1116

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 719) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States