Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This recipe is AMAZING--I followed it exactly and it's my favorite beef barley soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
My family loved this! I added all ingredients to the crock pot. I didn't have bay leaves, so used beef broth, oregano and basil. Also used fresh garden tomatoes instead of canned stewed, because I had some on hand. Definitely adding this into our meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Good base but not very flavorful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Love! We used 4c of beef broth to cook the roast. Instead of frozen mixed veggies we added 8 oz each of frozen corn and peas. As another reviewer suggested we added a dash of Worcestershire instead of sugar. We also upped the barley to 3/4c. After letting it sit/cool overnight all the liquid was absorbed so we added 6c more beef broth before eating it today. It was OUTSTANDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I did this on the stovetop and used beef stew meat instead of pot roast. I also did not use frozen veggies. This was simple, delicious, warm and filling to serve on a cool day. I served it with warm bread. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I absolutely loved this dish!!! I was confused by the frozen veggies after cutting up all those fresh ones. So next time I think I will use all fresh produce. I followed everything exactly as stated and was really impressed! Mmmmm can't wait to reheat some for lunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vababe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Tasty and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Made this recipe today in the slow cooker today. I used diced tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes and used beef broth instead of bouillon cubes and water. I omitted the sugar and the salt. It turned out fabulous. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Absolutely the best vegetable beef soup I have ever made!! I stayed pretty true to the recipe. I had a hot grill available the night before I was going to make this soup, so I seasoned the chuck roast with salt & pepper and seared it on both sides on the grill. I placed the roast in the bottom of the crock pot and added all ingredients except the barley and placed in refrigerator overnight. I left the carrots & celery in larger chunks so they would not break down. I placed the crock in the pot and set it to low before going to work the next morning. When I got home about 9½ hours later, I removed the chuck (it was in 4 large pieces) and added the barley. While the barley was cooking, I shredded the beef. It was cooked perfectly, fork tender and moist, but not falling apart and the vegetable in the larger chunks were tender without disintegrating. I added the beef back to the pot and dinner was ready! Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Delicious! One of the best beef vegetable soups I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 715) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States