Beef Barley Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Great recipe, I made it with bison. Also anytime i make a long simmering soup i put the veggies and onion in first, then fish out the old tired ones and put fresh chopped veggies in a half hour before done. I mixes garlic and onion powder in with the beef, splashed it with worcester sauce and let it marinate in the fridge for an hour or two. Then I browned it in a generous amount of oil and added all that into the pot for a richer flavor. it tastes super meaty and I only added two patties of bison (all i had in freezer). I didnt have an potatoes and its good even without. My fiance is inlove with this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Tasty recipe! I cooked this stove top in about 30 minutes (had some precooked lentils in the fridge). I left out the potatoes and barley to cut carbs (diabetic) and ended up adding fresh garlic and garlic powder, and a dash of Tony Chachere's. I also used stew meat. Will be using this again! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelleTeteRouge
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
The slight changes I made are: 8 cups of beef broth instead of water; omitted potatoes; used dried tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes since most stewed tomatoes are stewing in some type of preservative. Everything else is same. Because I used beef broth, it turned brownish in color as opposed to clear like you see in the pic. But the taste is better I think since fr reading the reviews some have said it tasted bland and needed spices. The beef broth made it tastier. Also, stick with using both the lentils and barley since it looked better with the combination of both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I liked it but really needed to bump up the flavors. Instead of potatoes I used button mushrooms, used a couple cans of beef stock and simmered on the stove top for 2 hours instead of slow cooker. Other then that I originally kept to the recipe. After tasting I added bay leaves, garlic powder, Worcestershire, basil, black pepper and a little cayenne. I'd give my finished product 5 stars. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Super easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Great easy meal for my perpetually hungry husband. I subsituted ground venison for beef which I browned in bacon fat for added flavor. I also adjusted the lentils to 1/2 c., water to 6 c. and tomatoes to 1 can. Spiced with a little curry, allspice, salt, pepper and bayleaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I omitted the potatoes because of all the starch. My family was not crazy about this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edwardsfamily5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
we loved this meal.....corn bread and ready. we have two additional meals so cutting it in half may work when cooking for two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNCITYMEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I don't like to cook, but have been trying to get excited about my crock pot. This soup was super easy to make!! It came out great, I didn't do anything to change the recipe. Hubby really liked it and so did my 1 yr old daughter! I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Very yummy. I used stewed tomatoes with garlic and oregano to add extra flavor. The whole family loved it. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States