Beef Bacon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
This is an excellent apetizer for the grill also. I baste with Itallian dressing and put on the grill. Instead of the toothpick, I use a dry spaghetti noodle. It melts when done and you don't have to worry about biting into the toothpick. Great for tailgating parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
Well, I looked in the freezer, and was pretty much down to the dreaded roast. Not my husband's favorite. So I was looking for something different to do with it. I was kinda skeptical, but this was a real hit. After his first bite, I got, "WOW, this is great!" A real compliment considering that I get the eye-roll when I tell him its a new recipe. I don't like onions, but put them in there anyway. You don't need to eat them, but it gave it a really good flavor. The meat was done perfect and very tasty. I put a little bit of garlic in there (mainly habit). I served with a little bit of horseradish. Definately a keeper...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
These were only ok - I had high hopes from the good reviews, but for me they were actually too fatty. I must prefer bacon on the crisp side, because to have it that soft and tender was unappealing. People seemed to like them, but there were a lot leftover, so they may have just been being nice. Very tender and flavorful, but skip these if you dont like the texture of the white fatty part of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I pounded my steak first, froze it for half an hour & then cut bacon-sized strips out of it. I also clarified my butter because of the long cook time. Allrecipes gives instructions here http://allrecipes.com/HowTo/Clarifying-Butter/Detail.aspx but it's easier to do in the microwave using a glass container, so that you can see the milky layer. These were incredibly tender & loaded w/ flavor, particularly since I served them w/ Mouthwatering Whiskey Grill Glaze (an allrecipes recipe). Great recipe. Thanks, Kelly Scraper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Good idea, but bad technique. The rolls were really greasy and the bacon was soft. After cooking as described in the recipe, I would use only 1 Tablespoon of butter, you would need to put these rolls under a broiler to crisp or brown up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
These are great! I thought for sure the 1 1/3 cup of butter was a mistake, but they turned out perfect and were delicious. Can't wait to try them with fresh from the butcher shop steak!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
This recipe was easy and delicious. I added mushrooms to the onions and butter and it worked out great. I recommend that everyone try this recipe; I'm sure you'll enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RINNYLEIGH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
These were quite good. I clarified the butter as suggested by another reviewer. I also only used a/b 1/3 cup. After I cooked them, I removed them & added 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar to the sauce in the pan and 3 tbs. brown sugar, and reduced it to a nice glaze, then ladled it over the beef rolls. Everyone enjoyed it and my husband said it's a "make again".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLIECOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
On a whim, I made these appetizers to take to a friend's house. I thought they were good, but the men at the party literally ate ALL of them...within a few minutes! They couldn't stop raving about them. I thought they were easy to make also - the only downside is having my house smell like onions for the next few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
These are sooooooooo good! I made for Bunco and many people were a little "scared" to try them (the look a little different), but those who did raved so much that everyone had to have one! The meat gets done PERFECTLY. Deliciously tender. Will definitely make again, I know the men in my house will love it too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chocolate-Covered Bacon Strips

How do you make bacon even better? Add chocolate, of course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States