Beef Bacon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Great recipe but I changed a few things- I didn't have sirloin so I used the cube steak. I cooked the bacon until almost done and I used only 4 tablespoons of butter on the lowest setting of our gas stove. It all turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
These were okay to me but my bf loved them. Very tender, but need some added flavor to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
They were pretty tasty...but they needed something. My fiance added BBQ sauce. I might try adding something to the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
We truely enjoyed this, the only thing I added was a teaspoon of minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RevConrad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Beef and bacon is almost a no-brainer that it's good together, but I'm not sure I really expected it to be this good. The bacon is nice and soft, and keeps the meat tender as can be (esp. if you use Sirloin as recommended). I have to say, if you're doing these in a pan you probably don't need much butter at all except to keep the pan from searing and smoking. The bacon grease will do most of your work. However, I actually preferred doing these on the grill - no butter, just great grill flavor! Sprinkle some salt/pepper on them for even more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Tasted better than they lookedm but still very good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
These were quite good. I clarified the butter as suggested by another reviewer. I also only used a/b 1/3 cup. After I cooked them, I removed them & added 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar to the sauce in the pan and 3 tbs. brown sugar, and reduced it to a nice glaze, then ladled it over the beef rolls. Everyone enjoyed it and my husband said it's a "make again".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLIECOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Good idea, but bad technique. The rolls were really greasy and the bacon was soft. After cooking as described in the recipe, I would use only 1 Tablespoon of butter, you would need to put these rolls under a broiler to crisp or brown up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I use sour pickles also with these,omg soooo good, family love em
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Glorified pigs in a blanket! These tasted pretty good, although it took a LONG time. Just because of time restraints, this definitely won't be an "after-work" weeknight recipe... but I might make them again sometime in the future. My husband enjoyed them more than I did, so maybe it's just a guy thing. Beef and bacon! LOL I had a little bit of a hard time keeping the temperature low enough to just simmer. The butter kept boiling no matter how low I put it. I finally had to remove it from the burner completely for around 10 minutes to let it cool down and then return it to lowest heat setting for the duration. I added some chopped garlic to the butter and onions. About halfway through the simmering, I added a little chopped piece of garlic to the top of each roll. This gave it a little bit of extra flavor. (I also salt and peppered to taste)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Chef John’s Beef Sliders

See how to make perfect homemade sliders.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States