Beef Au Jus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
it turned out so amazing, will do this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Perfect, even after I had to modify. I was out of beef broth so used 1 cup of chicken broth and 1 cup Merlot. The Fond, juices and fat were enough to give it a very beefy flavor. Everyone loved it. After the beef was gone I used the leftovers to make a gravy by mixing with a bit more roux. I use this method for all my gravies now. Super simple, super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
It was amazing!! I made an 8 lb prime rib roast for Christmas Day. Saved the fat drippings and made this lovely Au-Jus tonight. Used it to make french dip sandwiches from the leftover roast pieces. I have saved this recipe and will use it from now on. Thanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
It is a Christmas tradition in my home to serve Standing Rib Roast for dinner. I have tried many different au jus to go with the roast, this was by far the easier and tastiest. This is a keeper, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Made per notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Made as an accent to the Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib... was simple to make (ensure you have the right type of roaster to use in the oven and on the stove)...I substituted venison broth for the beef broth.... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Made this yesterday (as written) to serve with the "Foolproof Rib Roast". Would definitely omit the salt because rib roast rubs in general are salty. There was also a comment in the recipe to refer to the "footnote", but I couldn't find it. Also didn't care for the "cloudy" look of the au jus--used to a clear one. The taste over all was very good. Next time will either reduce or eliminate the flour. Overall though a very good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
OMG!! My first rime rib (3 bones)The au jus really set it off as it melted in my mouth. Very easy...Merry Xmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I baked the custard. Went exactly by the instructions. The pudding before the oven was delicious! Then I baked it. It wasn't as great afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Used it as a guide and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Au Jus

Learn how to make a very simple pan sauce for your beef roasts.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States