Beef Asado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Madmomof2
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I made it in my pressure cooker. You could cut the beef with a fork. The flavors are great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Loved this recipe. I used canned tomatoes and used most of the juice as the "ketchup" but also added some ketchup for the sweetness. I also added about 1/2 a cup of red wine as suggested by another poster and it really added the depthness I was looking for. I ran out of bullion cubes so I used a few scoops of beef gravy. I let everything simmer together for about 2 hours and served it over brown rice. My bf loved it! We had some toasted garlic bread, a side salad, and some cabernet sauvignon to go with. Perfect !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Wasn't sure about this one, what a great surprise! Goofed and bought stuffed olives. I started removing the center, and then said to heck with it and left them as is. I may add some crushed red pepper next time, otherwise I wouldn't change a thing. Oh we enjoyed this over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
If you're wondering what this tastes like, it almost tastes like a soy sauce, but much richer. You don't taste the ketchup at all, it actually was less sweet than I thought this would be. This definitely takes a bit of work and a lot of time but it's soooooo good. The beef wasn't tender after 1 hour and 20 minutes - might try throwing this into the slow cooker next time (and add the veggies at the end). I threw the crushed peppercorns, crushed garlic into a bouquet garni bag which worked great - I don't like eating peppercorns and didn't want to have to fish it out later. I crushed the peppercorns in a Ziploc bag with the meat pounder). Next time I'll throw the bay leaves in there as well - it was annoying to have to fish them out later, especially since one had broken into several pieces during stirring while it was still dry. They're no fun to eat! I can't believe how much sauce this makes - I really wanted bread but decided to serve it over brown rice. Also, instead of using 2 pots, I switched the order, and browned the meat, then the onions/garlic all in the same pot (making sure not to burn them). This way all the goodness and flavor bits all stay together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I made this recipe for lunch today and it was soo... tasty ,just as I expected it to be like my Mom's cooking. I modified the cooking time. Instead of simmering for one hour,I pressure cook for 20 minutes only and still followed the instructions from step 3-5. Thank you. LydiaP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
So good! I'm filipino and this is just as good as my dad's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cerritos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
just wonderful! I added 1/2 cup wine, on suggestion from another reviewer. I also left the beef in when I put in the peppers. An amazing beef "stew" that would work with egg noodles or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
My husband loved this recipe, he cooked the meat portion for me while I prepped the other ingredients. He added a 1/4c red wine to this .. such a great hearty stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
flavorful and aromatic. Didn't change the recipe at all. Served it with sticky rice and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
good dish! nice twist on a stew with the olives! used top sirloin instead of the chuck and it came out very nice with the leanness of the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steve2464

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States