Bee Sting Cake (Bienenstich) II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I think this recipe is like a 1-star as written but with just a few edits is a 4-star... so I'm giving it 3. Cake: if you knead by hand you add a huge amount of flour while kneading. I'd guess 2 cups flour is closer to the final figure. If you're trying to get your KitchenAid to knead it, you have to add put about 2 cups in while mixing. With that edit, the dough is fine. Not sweet but thats ok if the rest is sweeter. Topping, fine, but I will be doubling it in general and tripling the sugar. I put 1/4tsp almond extract in the topping too. Filling: I used 3 tablespoons sugar and 2tsp vanilla extract (and added two more yolks), but next time I'll try 6 tablespoons sugar. I folded the pudding into the cream OK with the KitchenAid on low. My pudding didn't come out like "tofu" as some others are saying. If it tasted like wallpaper paste, you didn't cook the milk/starch enough. Once cooked its not pasty. Then, don't add eggs until cooler than 80C and you're fine. When I was assembling it seemed like WAAAAAAAAY too much filling, and too runny. But, it firmed up over night in the refrigerator, so either cornstarch continues to firm (I've seen that in other cooking) or the cake absorbs some of it. By the time I served it the filling wasn't a problem at all. Final comment about sweetness: people are saying its "not American-level sweet" but I've been living abroad in Europe and Asia for 20 years. Its not even German-level sweet as written! 5-6x more sugar please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swiss Frank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
The "Bienenstich" I remember from Germany had individual servings cut more like a "Napoleon".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I love this recipe and have even made it adding chocolate and it is almost as good but I do like the vanilla slightly better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly. My end result was disappointing. The pastry was gooey, the filling was too much, and it was too big for the 8 inch pan,which made it rise quite high. I might try it again in the future to see if I get different results with a bigger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMI426

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I was a little weary of this recipe given all the bad reviews, but it worked out perfectly. It turned out better than any expectation I could possibly have! Everybody loved it, and it definately was not too sweet, which was also one of my concerns. I did everything from scratch, and trying to use the ready-made pudim didnt work out, so I made th eone in this recipe. It was great, I think the people who havent been successful with it just lack time and patience. Just follow this to a t, and it will turn out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Cakes (2) came out fine and were well received. Made them for a German party. These are not sweet cakes and are more closely related to a fancy dessert bread. They are a lot of work and worth the effort for special occasions. I would not make these on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This recipe is a good base however the instructions are not very good for beginning bakers. And, keep in mind you are making a pastry and all good pastries require time and technique. A yeast cake and a homemade custard should be attempted by a medium to expert level baker. After reading some of the reviews (watery custard, sticky dough, no raising) those mistakes are not due to the recipe but the baker. As far as the filling, look up a pastry cream and the technique to make it if you are new to custards and fold in a soft peaked whipped cream. (Keep in the cream of tartar even if it's not in the recipe. It helps keep the peeks stiff). Or, just look up a recipe for bavarian cream- which is what the filling is. If you do like sweeter desserts this is the place to add sugar to your taste, whip it into the whipped cream and add a vanilla bean or vanilla extract. You can even add 1/2 tsp almond and 1/2 tsp vanilla. I would double the topping and use 3 tbsp of honey to give the cake the authentic bee sting taste. You can skip the confectioners' sugar and just use regular to add a bit more sweetness. Lastly, it is best to proof your yeast (look it up) or my personal preference is instant yeast (look up conversion for active vs. instant). And, if you are new to dough look up the 'window pane test' which will indicate whether or not your dough is kneaded well enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
i had a recipe for this cake from a german cousin, i did something wrong while making his and had to scratch it. so i combined this recipe with his and it turned out perfect! it ended up being the 3rd highest seller at my relay for life cake auction!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I have been baking since i was 5, and i followed the recipe to a "T" since it was the first time making it. I guess i am like some others expecting something different. the only thing i have ever tried that was harder than this was hard tack back in 3rd grade. the filling reminded me of a tiramisu filling. it was kind of bitter, and the almond extract just seemed very out of place. not sure why it tastes so different from almonds. lol. I am only rating this on my personal taste. I may try to revisit and tweak the recipe. but i was definitely expecting something light and fluffy. i couldn't even cut it into layers to fill it. I had to top it with the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was ok - the cake didn't raise all that much even though I gave it lots of time. Instead of making the filling, used the dream whip and vanilla pudding. It worked well. Got compliments and was told it was better than the German bakery where a friend first tasted this cake. Would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States