Bee Sting Cake (Bienenstich) II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I was a little weary of this recipe given all the bad reviews, but it worked out perfectly. It turned out better than any expectation I could possibly have! Everybody loved it, and it definately was not too sweet, which was also one of my concerns. I did everything from scratch, and trying to use the ready-made pudim didnt work out, so I made th eone in this recipe. It was great, I think the people who havent been successful with it just lack time and patience. Just follow this to a t, and it will turn out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Cakes (2) came out fine and were well received. Made them for a German party. These are not sweet cakes and are more closely related to a fancy dessert bread. They are a lot of work and worth the effort for special occasions. I would not make these on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This recipe is a good base however the instructions are not very good for beginning bakers. And, keep in mind you are making a pastry and all good pastries require time and technique. A yeast cake and a homemade custard should be attempted by a medium to expert level baker. After reading some of the reviews (watery custard, sticky dough, no raising) those mistakes are not due to the recipe but the baker. As far as the filling, look up a pastry cream and the technique to make it if you are new to custards and fold in a soft peaked whipped cream. (Keep in the cream of tartar even if it's not in the recipe. It helps keep the peeks stiff). Or, just look up a recipe for bavarian cream- which is what the filling is. If you do like sweeter desserts this is the place to add sugar to your taste, whip it into the whipped cream and add a vanilla bean or vanilla extract. You can even add 1/2 tsp almond and 1/2 tsp vanilla. I would double the topping and use 3 tbsp of honey to give the cake the authentic bee sting taste. You can skip the confectioners' sugar and just use regular to add a bit more sweetness. Lastly, it is best to proof your yeast (look it up) or my personal preference is instant yeast (look up conversion for active vs. instant). And, if you are new to dough look up the 'window pane test' which will indicate whether or not your dough is kneaded well enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
i had a recipe for this cake from a german cousin, i did something wrong while making his and had to scratch it. so i combined this recipe with his and it turned out perfect! it ended up being the 3rd highest seller at my relay for life cake auction!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I have been baking since i was 5, and i followed the recipe to a "T" since it was the first time making it. I guess i am like some others expecting something different. the only thing i have ever tried that was harder than this was hard tack back in 3rd grade. the filling reminded me of a tiramisu filling. it was kind of bitter, and the almond extract just seemed very out of place. not sure why it tastes so different from almonds. lol. I am only rating this on my personal taste. I may try to revisit and tweak the recipe. but i was definitely expecting something light and fluffy. i couldn't even cut it into layers to fill it. I had to top it with the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was ok - the cake didn't raise all that much even though I gave it lots of time. Instead of making the filling, used the dream whip and vanilla pudding. It worked well. Got compliments and was told it was better than the German bakery where a friend first tasted this cake. Would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I read the reviews but still wanted to give it a go. And because I prefer a sweeter treat I doubled all the sugar in each section. I'm also wondering if some of the measurements are off. My dough was gooey so I had to add extra flour. My custard was like hard tofu and wouldnt 'fold' even though I cut way back on the corn starch. During the final rise the top of the cake was really misshapen but I think it looked more 'rustic'. The almond honey topping was amazingly good but the rest of it was disappointing for the effort. If I were to make it again I would not bother with the filling. I am glad I tried it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I made this for my beekeeper son's birthday. Hmmm. Not so good. The Tres Leches Cake I made for my husband's birthday was a much bigger hit! This recipe is too much...do this...let it rise...do that...let it rise...! Just wasn't worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I must have done something wrong. The filling was not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This cake was awesome, loved it! Yes, it was less sugary than our american sweet treats but that was the best part! The almond crunch was superb, but you do have to like almonds. I did not have almond extract so I used vanilla and that made it a perfect compliment to the almond crunchy top. Not hard to do and very nice results. The teacher and kids in my son's german class demolished it and were looking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States