Bee Lian's Rich Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Very good & very moist! I used the zest from a small orange & added a tsp of pure orange extract..had lots of orange flavor w/out being overpowering. I didn't frost mine either...just dusted it w/ some powdered sugar. Thanks for the recipe, Song Bee Lian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This cake is yummilcious! I love it. My only complaint is that the recipe makes a small cake. *g* I made it in a bundt pan and covered it with a glaze of 1/4 c. butter, 2/3 c. sugar and 1/3 c. OJ, heated on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA
Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This recipe was easy and delicious. It made a simple nice small sized cake. I added 4 oz. of cream cheese because I wanted it a little denser. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
A delicate and small cake, which is nicely moist and light. It went down well with my family, and had a good orange flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
I'm not sure what happened. I doubled the recipe to fill the bundt cake pan and it sunk when I took it out of the oven. The top and bottom were golden brown (baked for about 45 min) the upper half had the texture of raw dough or half baked cake. Is it because I used the silicone bundt cake pan? Not sure what happened. The flavor what very good though, just enough orange flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
This cake is light and buttery and oh so good! I have tried many, many recipes on this site and this was one of the best cakes I've found. I leave out the zest and it tastes just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEMINIBAKER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
I thought this cake was delicious. I doubled all of the ingredients and baked it in a Bundt pan. It is dense, rich, and super moist. I will be making this cake again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
light and soft...nice! i iced it with Carol's Orange and Lemon frosting...taste simply great! but if u are icing it try to reduce the sugar in the cake so it won't be too sweet..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
I found this cake to be very crumbly and it had a pretty weak flavour. Don't think I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
1/22/02 This cake is simple to prepare, but I probably won't be making this again. Beyond the ease of preparation, my family and I found this to be very bland. There was very little orange flavor, and I guess I was expecting something more. The cake was very light in texture, but seemed to be lacking in flavor. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States