Bee Lian's Rich Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I made these into cupcakes and they were really flavourful and satisfying :) I used the juice and zest of two sunkist oranges, which means around 2/3 cup of orange juice and 2 tbsp of zest. The taste was just perfect, not overly cloying on the orange and wonderfully sponge-like. I'll definitely make this again! One thing for those cupcake makers to take note though: they don't rise much, so you would probably like to fill it more than 2/3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Wow! Great basic cake and nice color with no artificial dyes! Changes I made: I only baked 25 minutes and it was done. Used 1/2 cup sugar and added 1 teaspoon pure orange extract. I only had enough zest for 1 tablespoon. One big orange only makes about 1 tablespoon zest. Frosted with the frosting recipe from the Orange Cream Cake IV on this site and added mandarin oranges as an accent after drying them with a paper towel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Great cake! I used mandarin oranges as I don't have any normal oranges.. and it still works perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
A delicious cake - we all loved it. It seems subtle and rich at the same time. I made it just as the recipe said and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russellville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Very Good! It's perfect with the powdered sugar dusted on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I searched and searched for a decent orange cake recipe -- more specifically, one without liqueur (because if you're making an orange cake, surely you want a fresh flavor!) This one sounded great because it was so simple, yet it gave precise mixing directions -- and I wasn't disappointed! The cake was quite moist and tender, due to the addition of the whipped whites at the end. My guests were very pleased with the velvety texture and smooth, natural orange flavor. I used the "Simply Orange" brand for my orange juice, and I used a tad more than 2 tbs orange zest. Also, I paired it with cream cheese buttercream, which complemented the orange fantastically. If you like your cakes on the sugar side, or if you prefer very light, airy cakes, this one may not be the recipe for you. If you like moist, tender, subtle cakes, you've found your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Great! Great orange flavor and it was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This was delicious! Moist, light, perfect amount of orange flavor. I served it at a dinner party with a dusting of powdered sugar. When serving it, I topped each slice with a drizzle of a simple homemade strawberry sauce and some fresh whipped cream with orange zest. It disappeared immediately, and my family asked me to make it again the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
So easy and good! I've made this twice. The second time, I doubled the recipe to make two 8 inch cake layers. I spread orange marmalade in between the layers. I also reduced the orange peel to one tsp. because the original amount made the cake slightly bitter. I didn't have self-rising flour, so I used cake flour with a tablespoon of baking powder. The cake is great with hot tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Quick. Easy. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahlangston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States