Becky's Sugary Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I did a little modification for this recipe I used softened butter not melted (cookies come out firm but not hard). They are a family favorite. They remind us of a Bakery Sugar cookie from growing up. I use a small ice cream scoop to mold them and just press down. We like them the way they are but you could add sugar to the tops or frost them if you wanted more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
These cookies do not do well at all as drop cookies. They looked terrible after they were baked, like miniature dried-out biscuits. I only have one insulated cookie sheet, so I baked them in small batches. With the second batch, I rolled small balls and then flattened them, these did better. Not a very tasty cookie, though. Strange texture, bland taste, I don't think I'll be using the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This cookie rivals if not beats the store bought "fluffy frosted sugar cookies"...IF you know what you're doing and how to make them right! Instructions: Do NOT melt the butter at all. You want to let it soften at room temperature. Then cream it w/ the sugar & add eggs one at a time. Next you need to sift the flour into your measuring cup! This is NOT the same as measuring then sifting (trust me I know what I'm talking about!!!) Once you've thoroughly combined the flour, add the baking powder & vanilla. I chose two slight changes: I used 1/2 tsp almond extract & 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. Then I bumped the sugar to 1 1/4 cup. I used a small spring hinged ice cream scoop to distribute the dough. Don't allow the 1 star ratings to sway you - if you know how to cook, and understand your way around the kitchen, give this recipe a try!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I thought this was a very good and simple recipe. I did a couple other things to them. I added caramel bits (about half a bag) and sprinkled them with sugar before baking. They were very very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I love how simple and yummy these cookies are! I add M&Ms or Reese's pieces to do the dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I followed the other reviewer's advice and made cut outs. I also added an extra 6 tsp of sugar and they came out great! The dough was really easy to work with and my family liked them. I sweetened them up with the butter icing for sugar cookies recipe on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This recipe was great! my young children (2 and 4) loved helping me make these (sifting the flour was a favorite) and then decorating and eating was a great bonus! The batch made 34 cookies (I took a bunch to work!), and the recipe has been saved as a "make again" Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very tasty sugar cookies. I liked them because they weren't too sweet which is why I'm normally not a big fan of sugar cookies. I made them yesterday for a party and none were left! I'm making them again today. Yummy! I would suggest adding a little less flour and baking around 7 minutes instead of 10 to 15 for a softer, chewier cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
these were good cookies, really quick and easy to make just a bit too puffy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I did not like these at all.. the consistency was strange.. it was thick and cake like and tasted really funky.. maybe too much vanilla? not enough sugar and way too much baking powder. Don't think I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States