Becky's Easy Cilantro Lime Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BCOLLINS1
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Note on the cilantro - Do not puree or you will end up with green rice. To avoid this chop by hand (do not add to blender). If you end up with "green rice" it still tastes great, but kids aren't as quick to eat it. :) This bit of the instuctions was missed after the editing process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCOLLINS1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: Herriman, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I enjoyed the recipe very much; my family ate plenty. The recipe is good as is. However, I did find the rice to be a bit onthe soggy side. I will try a few alterations to see if that helps. First, I will brown the rice a bit before added the other ingredients Also, I will not put the other ingreadients in the food processor, I will just chop small. Lastly, I will have the cilantro at the end to keep the color and flavor fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This was a very tasty rice dish. I made as written, except using standard rice as opposed to instant. It was a nice accompaniment to the broiled tilapia that I had marinated in olive oil, lime juice, cilantro, chili peppers, etc. We did top the rice with some shredded cheddar which gave the rice a little more depth. I will keep this recipe in rotation. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5THSISTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This was awesome! Just like the kind you get at Mexican restaurants!! I agree with some others that you need to *pulse* the cilantro in the food processor (added last) or it chops too fine. I also left off the 1 Tbl. butter to keep it healthy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Pretty good, but not the rice I was hoping for...still searching for the clone of Chipotles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Fresh and flavorful recipe! I was looking for a rice dish using lime and cilantro to give a kick to our usual side of plain rice and this recipe fit the bill. I made it just as stated, except I used fresh mild green chilis, omitted the bouillon to avoid MSG, and just added some salt to substitute. I served it with homemade steak and black bean tostadas and fresh salsa, lettuce, and tomato from the garden. I did put the cilantro in the blender because I didn't see the edit in the reviews, and it turned out great. The rice stayed white mixed with green flecks. Maybe because I added the cilantro mix after most of the liquid had been absorbed by the rice, just before serving, by oversight. I made this recipe a second time to serve a chicken dish made with a Southwest sauce and tortilla strips. I wanted the chicken flavor that the bouillon in the original recipe would provide but again, wanted to avoid the preservatives and MSG so I used some defrosted chicken broth from my freezer in place of the water and added a bit of salt. Thank you BCOLLINS1, we love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salihah
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was very easy to prepare. I followed the directions and it came out great. This was nice and light. My young boys loved it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Good! I had a recipe similar to this years ago and lost it, and I've been looking for a replacement ever since. This recipe is close. The flavor is really good. I would suggest adding about 2 tsp of cumin. I use green onions. Now I need to adjust this to make less, since you end up with a ton of rice, but the leftovers would be good in burritos! Thanks - I'm glad to have this back in my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Very tasty! I made this to go with a chicken dish and it was a great compliment: light, but very flavorful. I did leave out the green chiles for my children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I love this recipe. The flavor was really good and strong and it was simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States