Becky's Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
A very tasty chicken salad! I really enjoyed this salad. I diced up some leftover rotisserie chicken. I chopped up celery and halved the sweet red seedless grapes and mixed it in with the chicken. I chilled the chicken until just ready to serve. It took almost 2 minutes to whip the heavy cream with a hand mixer. Once I had soft peaks I added the chicken, celery and grapes, then the slivered almonds to the whip cream. Instead of adding a full 1 cup of mayonnaise , I added a little at a time, mixing it into the chicken until I got a desired consistency I wanted. I added a little hawaiian sea salt and chopped fresh parsley. The chicken salad is absolutely wonderful! The whipped cream makes the salad taste lighter. I like the sweet juicy grapes with the crunch of the celery and slivered almonds. Its nice texture with light flavors made for a tasty chicken salad. I am glad I held back on the amount of mayonnaise. I think this recipe is good -but only with less mayonnaise. I served this along with, "Bacon Corn Chowder," also from this website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
The mayo/cream made a great dressing. It was creamy with a little sweetness without adding sugar. I didn't have grapes tonight so added 1/4 c of chopped sweet onion and 1/4 c. chopped green pepper and 1/2 c. of Craisins. I used chopped pecans instead of almonds as that is what I was hungry for. I have made this several times before and always change the ingredients but use the mayo/cream dressing. Use your imagination. I served fresh fruit on the side and baguette bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Whipping cream and whipped topping are NOT the same thing! Miracle Whip is NOT mayo! Now that I've said and repeated these two crucial things, I must say this chicken salad is outrageously good. I do make a couple of changes: a little more cream and a lot less mayo (I'm a mayo hater...still, it does not ruin this salad for me at all!) I add a chopped apple and just an extremely tiny sprinkle of cayenne pepper. Wonderful and I will be serving it at my daughter's baby shower!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was F'in awesome! I substituted the almonds for dried cranberry's in the second batch I made ( the hubby isn't crazy about nuts), tasted great either way will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThatGrlCarra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Added some extra almonds and I thinly sliced the grapes and it was a hit with everyone including my niece and boyfriend who are both extremely particular. We make this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Love this Chicken Salad recipe! Turns out great every time I make it whether I follow the directions to a T or mix it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I made this tonight for my husband, he loves chicken salad but doesn't like things that have too much mayo. I added a little extra chicken (about 3 cups) and it came out perfectly coated, not dry at all. He loved it and so did I, I served with croissants as sandwiches. I will absolutely make this again although with one or two changes. I thought it was too salty, I probably wont add any next time. I also added a little pepper which I thought helped add a dimension which I will do again. Don't skip on the parsley, I almost did and I'm so glad I didn't. I used Italian parsley and the flavor was a nice addition. I can't imagine making this with cool whip, I don't think the sweet would be good addition to this, it reminds me of yams or fruit salad with marshmallows, yuck. Use the heavy whipped cream, it makes it so creamy and cuts out some of the mayo flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scfeigel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
this was so much better with walnuts but I think it could have used a little less grapes. Very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Even the husband said it tasted good and he isn't a big fan of mixing fruits with meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and overall this recipe was okay but a little too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States