Becky's Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
This was the perfect chicken salad recipe I was looking for. I don't keep cream on hand so I used a bit of sour cream thinned with a small amount of milk and a pinch of sugar to reduce the sour cream tang. (In the end the sour cream tasted similar to regular cream.) The 2nd day I still had some chicken salad leftover so I added canned pineapple tidbits to it and that was also very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorthbyNorthwest

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sutton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Oh my goodness. Just added an apple but otherwise followed to the letter. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boni Turner Hills

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I made this yesterday when I was looking for a recipe to use up some leftover chicken. I had two things differently. My husband will not eat uncooked celery so I used celery flakes instead. I only had 1 1/2 cups chicken so I adjusted the other ingredients accordingly. I was unsure how it would turn out using the heavy whipping cream but it's wonderful! I read a couple of other reviews where they chose to substitute cool whip. I would suggest not doing that as using real cream helps it bind together better. Eve R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve Robinson
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
LOVE this recipe! Scoop it onto a sesame seed bun and it's delicious! It's important to note that whipping cream is NOT the same thing as whip cream or cool whip... Use heavy whipping cream from a carton, it'll be by the milk and half-and-half in the grocery store. My family prefers more of a "plain Jane" chicken salad so I left out the parsley and almonds and simply served grapes on the side instead of incorporating them into the salad. I LOVE salty food and usually add more than a recipe calls for, but I think without the sweetness of the grapes the recipe calls for way too much salt, so if you skip the grapes like I do, use half a teaspoon of salt instead. I also added a teaspoon of paprika and chopped green onion to sprinkle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
This is really very good. I did put in some cranrasins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wkwebby
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I followed the directions as is, and loved it. I used Perdue Short cuts instead of the cooked chicken and salt (in the recipe). Other than that, I think the flavors were really saturated into everything the next day, but still oh so good the day that I made it. I was lazy and actually didn't even whip the heavy cream up and it still came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Great basic chicken salad. Tasty as is but possibilities are endless. I added tomato and served on romaine lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjohnal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carolyn Gamel
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I just made it tonight. It was delicious. Will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Gamel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
It was good. Just a little too heavy on the mayo and whipping cream. I would not use as much as it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This is a good recipe. I cut the recipe down to 5 servings, so about half of the original. To the halved recipe, I added about 3/4 c pomegranate to it as well and the flavors were very nice. My husband liked it for lunch and said I should make it again sometime. We will have the left overs from lunch for dinner tonight along with another dish. And I used cool whip and canned chicken when I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States