Becki's Oven Barbecue Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This recipe was very good! However, like others have said, I found it to taste way too much like ketchup. I improvised by putting 1/2 cup of ketchup(instead of 1 cup), 1 1/2 teaspoons of soya sauce, 1 table spoon chilli powder, 1 table spoon garlic powder and a few shakes of hot sauce. I gave this recipe a 3 because of the changes that needed to made. After all the changes, it tasted absolutely delicious. I've used this recipe to make wings, legs and thighs. I will definitely using this recipe for making barbeque chicken in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
339 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
These are the BEST wings I have ever had in my life! My husband who used to work in a restaurant says they are the best he has ever tasted! I did change two things in the recipe however. Before coating the wings with the sauce I dropped them in boiling water for 10 minutes. I didn't have any onion powder so I substituted garlic powder. Also, I put aluminum foil on the pan before I put the wings in (makes clean up easier).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Wonderful! I made these for the Super Bowl and my friends loved them. I doubled the recipe as I had 20 wings and made a few other changes. These changes are for a doubled batch: added two tablespoons of garlic powder, added approx. 10 drops of hot sauce and added approx. 1 teaspoon of liquid smoke. I also used only 1 1/2 cups of ketchup as other reviewers suggested. Because some reviewers complained about burning I cooked them the first 30 minutes covered with foil and the last 15 minutes uncovered. I also basted every 15 minutes. This was a great recipe and I plan on making this many, many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This is a good recipe as is, 4 stars for sure. But it tastes a little too much like ketchup for me. To make it 5 stars, try Naturelle's suggestions (posted 6/1/2005) - decrease ketchup, add soya sauce, chili powder and substitute onion powder with garlic powder. Those variations make it fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurencelle
Home Town: La Broquerie, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: St. Adolphe, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2000
I added some chopped onion instead of the onion spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Really great-- follow others' suggestions to reduce ketchup and add the soy sauce and other spices--best we've had. Husband loved it--smelled great while cooking and not too sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
This is easy to make and my family loves it. I have used chicken breasts and cut them into 1 - 2 inch pieces in place of wings. We rarely have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
We love this recipie. I made the sauce as printed, except I reduced the ketchup. Before coating the chicken, I boiled it for 15 minutes. Then we smoothered the chicken with the sauce. We then put it on the grill for a few minutes to make it a little crip. Thanks for the great recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Thanks for this recipe. It's a keeper! I made it for "girls night" this past Tuesday and everyone loved it. I sprayed the pan before putting everything in it and it was easy to clean afterward despite all the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovestocook25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is a totally YUMMY dish that my family loves for me to make! If I'm in a complete hurry, I follow the directions here, but I always use drumsticks instead of wings cause they offer more meat. If I have a little extra time, I will use an oven safe pan and brown the chicken first, while making the sauce, then pour the sauce over the chicken and bake in the same pan so I'm not messing up every pan/dish in the kitchen! Make it - your family will be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Soy, ketchup, garlic, and honey create a sweet, sticky, tangy sauce for wings.

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States