Becki's Oven Barbecue Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I made this recipe for supper tonight using chicken thighs. It was absolutely delicous. I think it would be great with bonesless breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
perhaps a drop or two of liquid smoke will make this more of a bbq sauce and less of a meatloaf topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is a totally YUMMY dish that my family loves for me to make! If I'm in a complete hurry, I follow the directions here, but I always use drumsticks instead of wings cause they offer more meat. If I have a little extra time, I will use an oven safe pan and brown the chicken first, while making the sauce, then pour the sauce over the chicken and bake in the same pan so I'm not messing up every pan/dish in the kitchen! Make it - your family will be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
As most other reviewers said, I had to do extensive tweaking to get the taste I wanted. W-a-y too much ketchup. I reduced ketchup and what I used was organic, low sugar, low salt with fewere preservatives. I too switched granulated garlic for the onion powder, which I find rather tasteless. I subbed Becel marg for butter and added Hungarian smoked paprika for that smoky flavour that grills inpart. When some many changes are made to a recipe I can't credit it with too many stars. This recipe is a jumping off point for concocting one's own version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Wow so good. I was afraid of wings in the oven being too gummy but they were PERFECT. Following others recommendation, I used half the ketchup and water and the sauce was SO GOOD, not ketchup-y in the least. My husband wants me to de-skin the wings next time but I wasn't bothered by the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
My son loves to take these for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
delicious! I followed the recipe and tripled it for 5lbs of wings. Switched out the onion powder for garlic and added Cayenne Pepper, Ginger and a bunch of chipotle hot sauce. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Skelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
THESE WERE GREAT! I followed the tips by other reviewers - I doubled the recipe (but cut the ketchup in half) so I used 3T minced onion, about 2T garlic powder, a few dashes of hot sauce and 2T of chipotle chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin Giamella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bound Brook, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Server33
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Hands down 5 stars because of how my chicken turned out. I only use recipes with 4 stars or more, so even if I alter a recipe, I give it the stars I feel my end-result version deserved. And I always check a handful of reviews prior to using a recipe. This turned out phenomenal. I had every intention of making this as listed, but I was missing one ingredient. And when I tasted the marinade before adding the ketchup/water mix, it was soooo good (hubby and son agreed), that I quit right there. Here's what I did: Feeding 6 family members, so I quadrupled the recipe yet still changed a couple things... for 6 large boneless skinless chicken breasts with rib meat, I melted 11 T butter in sauce pan. Added the onion powder (just under 1/4C - I know it sounds like a lot), added a half to three-quarters cup of brown sugar, added what was left of my worcestershire sauce (1 to 2 tsp), added a bunch of shakes of soy to make up for the worcestershire I was missing (maybe a quarter cup). Then added just under a half cup yellow mustard. heat and stir till smooth. Sweet and tangy and awesome. Tasted so good, that I was afraid to add the ketchup, so I didn't. Set a small amount aside for dipping. Marinated the breasts (could have added another one or 2 breasts) for a couple hours then grilled to perfection. All my boys, 2, 4, 14 and 15, and hubby scarfed it up. Served with baked potatoes and broccoli. What a keeper! I'll try to upload my photo too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Server33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I cut the ketchup in half and added siracha sauce and cayenne pepper for a kick. Came out good and everyone ate them up. I will make it again with extra siracha sauce next time. I think that I had actually used a cup of ketchup, it wouldn't have came out very tasty, hence the 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKXG1RL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks

Baked chicken with homemade BBQ sauce.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States