Becki's Oven Barbecue Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
delicious! I followed the recipe and tripled it for 5lbs of wings. Switched out the onion powder for garlic and added Cayenne Pepper, Ginger and a bunch of chipotle hot sauce. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
THESE WERE GREAT! I followed the tips by other reviewers - I doubled the recipe (but cut the ketchup in half) so I used 3T minced onion, about 2T garlic powder, a few dashes of hot sauce and 2T of chipotle chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgiamella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bound Brook, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Server33
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Hands down 5 stars because of how my chicken turned out. I only use recipes with 4 stars or more, so even if I alter a recipe, I give it the stars I feel my end-result version deserved. And I always check a handful of reviews prior to using a recipe. This turned out phenomenal. I had every intention of making this as listed, but I was missing one ingredient. And when I tasted the marinade before adding the ketchup/water mix, it was soooo good (hubby and son agreed), that I quit right there. Here's what I did: Feeding 6 family members, so I quadrupled the recipe yet still changed a couple things... for 6 large boneless skinless chicken breasts with rib meat, I melted 11 T butter in sauce pan. Added the onion powder (just under 1/4C - I know it sounds like a lot), added a half to three-quarters cup of brown sugar, added what was left of my worcestershire sauce (1 to 2 tsp), added a bunch of shakes of soy to make up for the worcestershire I was missing (maybe a quarter cup). Then added just under a half cup yellow mustard. heat and stir till smooth. Sweet and tangy and awesome. Tasted so good, that I was afraid to add the ketchup, so I didn't. Set a small amount aside for dipping. Marinated the breasts (could have added another one or 2 breasts) for a couple hours then grilled to perfection. All my boys, 2, 4, 14 and 15, and hubby scarfed it up. Served with baked potatoes and broccoli. What a keeper! I'll try to upload my photo too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Server33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I cut the ketchup in half and added siracha sauce and cayenne pepper for a kick. Came out good and everyone ate them up. I will make it again with extra siracha sauce next time. I think that I had actually used a cup of ketchup, it wouldn't have came out very tasty, hence the 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKXG1RL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
these turned out pretty good. i made it a few times, first time i made it as directed and like others said, it came out tasting a bit too much like catchup, so the second time i made it i halved the amount of catchup and doubled the amount of Worcestershire sauce because i like mine not overly sweet. also i made sure to take them out every few minutes and spoon the sauce back over the chicken so it was heavily coated. overall this was really good and ill keep this for a quick and easy week night dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~KC~formally YoungCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Thanks I needed a quick bbq recipe with what I had on hand. TYVM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GETVICTD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
great flavors. I added 1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper for a little more spice, but it would have been just as good without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This was fabulous! I changed it a little to adjust to my family's taste. I used 1/2 the ketchup as recommended by other cooks and added hot sauce and garlic to the sauce. Also, I sprinkled seasoned salt on the wings. I prepared them the night before and let them marinade overnight. I used the oven method but cooked them for a full hour. They were great as leftovers too, so make extra! Definitely use foil in your pan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Not bad with half the ketchup, less water, a lot more garlic powder and some cayenne and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is an easy, great tasting recipe that is almost foolproof; I doubled it in a counter top skillet to take to a potluck, and everyone loved it! The chicken was so tender, yet held together well for serving. Very very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaelene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Soy, ketchup, garlic, and honey create a sweet, sticky, tangy sauce for wings.

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States