Bechamel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
This recipe was EXCELLENT and very, very easy. I followed it to a T, but after it thickened and I removed it from the stove I added some shredded white cheddar - YUM. Any time I need a white sauce for anything, this is the recipe I'll be using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDZELLMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I made this sauce 3 times so far. The first two times I made it for a fish gratin: i used fish stock and did not use the recommended seasonings, using, instead, onion powder (didn't used real onions) and garlic powder. This time I'm making chicken pot pie with it and I doubled the recipe, using half chicken stock and half vegetable stock and again using different seasonings: onion powder, garlic powder, and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
This is a great sauce! I put it over angel hair pasta with tiny shrimp and my boyfriend loved it. We will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alsip, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rantoul, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
I have made this recipe, and it is great. I have subsituted the thyme with curry powder. At various occassions, I have added, flaked salmon, cheddar cheese, and herbs. It tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncan, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
This sauce is awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
This was a really easy recipe. I used it for Valentine's Day over homemade, heart-shaped, meat ravioli. As suggested by a prior review, I used rosemary instead of thyme as I'm not a huge thyme fan anyway. I uses dried chopped onions because when I opened my drawer all of the onions were rotten. That was a good substitute but I would suggest using only 1 T. if using the dried. Very tasty! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knowlton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
This recipe was really good, we made it with portabella mushrooms. The kids, which are teenagers also liked it. I will try it with chicken and shrimp in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
Absolutely the best white sauce I have ever had. Served it to my dad, the food critic, and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
This sauce was absolutely delicious! I have tried some sauces from allrecipes, only to be very disappointed. This time, I was just the opposite. The sauce was very flavourful. I added another tbsp or two of flour to thicken it some more, and as recommended I used Rosemary. I also added a pinch of onion salt. The results were more than satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
This is a fabulous white sauce! All my roommates were so impressed with it. Very flavorful! I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States