Bechamel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I use this often in lasagna. Instead of the cream and broth, I use 2 cups milk and a bouillon cube. Sometimes I'll also add in some grated emmental or parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I thought this was DELICIOUS pasta sauce, although I made lots of substitutions based on my cupboard and because I'm a vegetarian. I used skim milk and added an extra T. of flour. I used dehydrated minced onion, and vegetable stock instead of chicken broth. For spices I used a few sprinkles of Italian seasonings and a little chili powder. I would use this again for pasta sauce (I might use one T. flour so it's not so thick), or make it the same way and use it as a gravy. Thanks for the great inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
This is okay, not spectacular,but okay. Even after using rosemary instead of thyme, it was still mediocore in taste. In needs something... but I can't say what. After pouring over my chicken with pasta, I had to add extra S&P and parmesean cheese...in excess of what should have been neccessary just to "spice up" the dish. It wasn't bad...just not that good. thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
For Dreginek to help "spice it up" a bit more you could simmer the cream with a 1/4 of a white onion, bay leaf, and one whole clove. Remove these items and then thicken w/ roux and season to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Super easy and very good sauce too! My first try ever at bechamel and it came out perfectly. I cut this in half. I used half heavy whipping cream and half 2% milk and made my own half and half. I used onion powder about 1/2 tsp instead of grated fresh. No lumps, super creamy, very rich. I used this in a chicken and pasta dish and it turned out beautiful and was so delicious. This took about 25 min total time for me, so it can't be done in a hurry like package mix and gravies can, but so worth the little extra time it takes. Thanks for the wonderful recipe, I will use this again and again now that I know how easy and foolproof this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
This recipe was EXCELLENT and very, very easy. I followed it to a T, but after it thickened and I removed it from the stove I added some shredded white cheddar - YUM. Any time I need a white sauce for anything, this is the recipe I'll be using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDZELLMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I use this recipe as a basic sauce for all occasions: add blue cheese or roasted pepper (these are only examples) for a great pasta sauce, or mix left over vegetables or potatoes with it and bake in the oven for 30 minutes - makes a very tasty casserole. I like this easy to make recipe to pep every-day meals up. I have to admit that it is a bit too bland to use it as a simple sauce over meat or potatoes - but it is very versatile if someone uses it with some ideas! Thanks for the recipe - I use it a lot! :) btw - I do not have chicken broth, chicken bouillon cubes do just fine, though. Just cut down on the extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
Excellent! The chicken broth, thyme, and cayenne pepper improved the flavor of this sauce over other Bechamel sauce recipes I tried. For a more delicate, yet creamier flavor, you might want to substitute the 2 TBsp flour and 1 cup half-and-half for 1 TBsp corn starch and 1 cup table cream. Mix the corn starch with the cold cream and room-temperature chicken broth prior to adding it to the melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYBERGIFTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
This was an excellent recipe. Easy and very flavorful. I used dried onion flakes instead of the grated onion and I only had skim milk, so I just added an extra tablespoon of flour. Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDYCLAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
It was pretty good. I added left over bacon to mine to make a carbonara type sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States