Bechamel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
We thought this was wonderful! Substituted onion powder for the grated onion and was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
Folks, this is the best ever!!! The recipe is foolproof. You can't go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
Excellent! The chicken broth, thyme, and cayenne pepper improved the flavor of this sauce over other Bechamel sauce recipes I tried. For a more delicate, yet creamier flavor, you might want to substitute the 2 TBsp flour and 1 cup half-and-half for 1 TBsp corn starch and 1 cup table cream. Mix the corn starch with the cold cream and room-temperature chicken broth prior to adding it to the melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYBERGIFTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
This sauce was perfect. I used as the base for my homemade version of McCain's Parisian Pizza. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
I must admit this recipe is good but for those who are just making it let me make a few adjustment: Add a little more salt and cannye pepper to the recipe to accrie your taste. Use two pinches of thyme. You can use any kind of milk but just add a little more flour. This recipe definently has POTENIAL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANICET1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
This was an excellent recipe. Easy and very flavorful. I used dried onion flakes instead of the grated onion and I only had skim milk, so I just added an extra tablespoon of flour. Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDYCLAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
AMAZING! this is a wonderful recipe.. I have made this several times n each time i have had to pass out the recipe! thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
Beautiful. This recipe was quick, easy, and included very simple, handy ingredients. I think the serving sizes are a little skewed, but nothing a little fiddling can't fix. I honestly can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I made this sauce 3 times so far. The first two times I made it for a fish gratin: i used fish stock and did not use the recommended seasonings, using, instead, onion powder (didn't used real onions) and garlic powder. This time I'm making chicken pot pie with it and I doubled the recipe, using half chicken stock and half vegetable stock and again using different seasonings: onion powder, garlic powder, and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
This recipe was EXCELLENT and very, very easy. I followed it to a T, but after it thickened and I removed it from the stove I added some shredded white cheddar - YUM. Any time I need a white sauce for anything, this is the recipe I'll be using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDZELLMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States