Bechamel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Liked this. First time making a Bechamel sauce. Used onion powder instead of grated. Added a few extra seasonings. I plan on finding other recipes that I can use this sauce with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Thank you so much for this recipe! It was awesome :) I am living in Bhutan now where I cannot get a majority of food & spice items, and I was still able create this and make it “vegetarian”. After over 2 months without any good pasta, I was ecstatic to find this, although I had to make a few modifications… First I don’t like onions and did not have onion powder, so just used an onion oil flavored packet from a packet of noodles similar to Ramen. Second, I didn’t have actual chicken broth but made it with 1 ½ chicken “flavored” bouillon cubes. I didn’t have the pepper or thyme, but the “chicken” bouillon gave it plenty of flavor and I added a pinch of chili pepper flakes and 2 gloves crushed garlic after a few minutes of cooking. I replaced the half and half with canned low fat cream. Finally, I added a bag of sautéed fresh local mushrooms to the sauce before it was done thickening and cooked for some time, then served over tri-colored rotini-like pasta. My fiancé (who usually likes only traditional Bhutanese food) and I both loved it! I will be making this again today and many, many more times! Will probably double the sauce next time if I hope to have any leftovers…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
It was pretty good. I added left over bacon to mine to make a carbonara type sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
excellent sauce, put it over pasta as a side dish and it was very good. just what I wanted, creamy sauce without the cheesy flavor of alfredo sauces. I would suggest adding an extra tablespoon of flour or add alittle cornstarch, as it didn't thicken enough for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Just great the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This was really good, but didn't thicken. I had to add cornstarch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
I used this on a four cheese lasagna like I had on my honeymoon -mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
I really liked this sauce. I followed the directions, except I halved the recipe. I addred some sauteed mushrooms to the sauce and LOVED it. I recommend this recipe to everyone. I placed cooked pasta and placed grilled chicken and poured the sauce over the top. It was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loma Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This is simple to make and extremely tasty with chicken and pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I didn't like this at all. It was too salty and just plain didn't taste right. Sorry. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Quick Alfredo Sauce with Spinach Salad

See how to make fresh pasta with Alfredo sauce and a simple salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States