Bechamel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
My husband and I thought this was a pretty good sauce. Just needs a bit more spices to kick it up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaylie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Love it. It's a bit runny, but perfect when making Chicken Alfredo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Super easy and very good sauce too! My first try ever at bechamel and it came out perfectly. I cut this in half. I used half heavy whipping cream and half 2% milk and made my own half and half. I used onion powder about 1/2 tsp instead of grated fresh. No lumps, super creamy, very rich. I used this in a chicken and pasta dish and it turned out beautiful and was so delicious. This took about 25 min total time for me, so it can't be done in a hurry like package mix and gravies can, but so worth the little extra time it takes. Thanks for the wonderful recipe, I will use this again and again now that I know how easy and foolproof this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Very good sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
good sauce for my vegetable lasagna. very tasty. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Good, took quite a while to thicken as much as I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOTQUITEMARTHA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Very good. I added more chicken boullion. Quite flavourful. Also added bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I thought this was DELICIOUS pasta sauce, although I made lots of substitutions based on my cupboard and because I'm a vegetarian. I used skim milk and added an extra T. of flour. I used dehydrated minced onion, and vegetable stock instead of chicken broth. For spices I used a few sprinkles of Italian seasonings and a little chili powder. I would use this again for pasta sauce (I might use one T. flour so it's not so thick), or make it the same way and use it as a gravy. Thanks for the great inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
My husband prefers white sauce over red so I decided to try to make it from scratch and this recipe was super easy! I used 2 cups of half and half (I was trying to use it up), cornstarch instead of flour and a bouillion cube, plus I didn't have grated onion so I used a dash of garlic powder instead. It was still a bit on the bland side for me so I added about 1/2 cup of sundried tomatoes that I had. I poured it over Four Cheese Ravioli from Costco and my husband loved it. I will definitely use this as the base to most of my white sauces in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANAI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Excellent! I added a little bit of cornstarch dissolved in water because it wasn't thick enough. The cayenne pepper gives this sauce a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States