Bechamel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
i took the advice of another reviewer and used a bouillion with 2 cups of milk, simply because it seemed easier and we never buy cream in our house. it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I needed this for a cod fish casserole dish and it was good. I did add about 1/4 cup of italian shredded cheese blend when it was done and some dried parsley with the dried thyme. I also omitted the cayenne pepper. But this is a great basic recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This is absolutely my favourite bechamel sauce. I use it with any "au gratin", with pasta and in lasagna. I didn't have half and half and didn't like the idea of chicken broth making my sauce brown, so I used 2 cups of milk instead. I also added the seasoning in while it was cooking, and it was so good that I do it that way every time. I also add some grated cheddar cheese in the end when I use it in an "au gratin". DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
My husband and I thought this was a pretty good sauce. Just needs a bit more spices to kick it up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaylie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Love it. It's a bit runny, but perfect when making Chicken Alfredo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Super easy and very good sauce too! My first try ever at bechamel and it came out perfectly. I cut this in half. I used half heavy whipping cream and half 2% milk and made my own half and half. I used onion powder about 1/2 tsp instead of grated fresh. No lumps, super creamy, very rich. I used this in a chicken and pasta dish and it turned out beautiful and was so delicious. This took about 25 min total time for me, so it can't be done in a hurry like package mix and gravies can, but so worth the little extra time it takes. Thanks for the wonderful recipe, I will use this again and again now that I know how easy and foolproof this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Very good sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
good sauce for my vegetable lasagna. very tasty. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Good, took quite a while to thicken as much as I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOTQUITEMARTHA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Very good. I added more chicken boullion. Quite flavourful. Also added bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States