Bechamel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Good sauce however, substituted thyme with 1 large bay leaf (thyme can be overpowering for some dishes) and the broth/half-and-half with 2 cups whole milk. Omitted salt (used salted butter) and made a light blonde rue with the butter and flour, created just a bit more character. This recipe is a great starting point for many other sauces. With the addition of other herbs/spices/cheeses you can go to mornay sauce, bernaise sauce and many ohters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I was looking for a cloned recipe for boxed Creamy Chicken Pasta and (after pouring through tons of recipes) stumbled on this. How simple and yet how perfect! Made exactly as directed (only halved for just the 2 of us) and then tossed hot linguini with the bechamel sauce. Absolutely outstanding! I felt the spices were dead on. Thank you so much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Actually, this was a great sauce. I added sauteed mushrooms & peas in butter and tossed in fresh parley in the end. Great last minute dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This is a great basic recipe. It can be spiced up by simply adding your favorite spices. I always use this recipe, i try different spices and different cheeses. Great recipe. I prefer my onion finely chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Makeda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I think this is an excellent version of bechamel. Prior to this recipe I'd never tried one that included chicken broth, which lightens up the calories a bit, but I discovered I quite liked it. I wrote down the stovetop method (and that's what I used) but the recipe doesn't instruct you to use any of the seasonings if you follow those directions so be sure to write down ALL the ingredients. Mine came out fine because I was adding a different seasoning anyway. I would also advise you NOT to add all the cold liquid at once -- that's the best way known to make lumpy sauces/gravies. Instead add a bit, whisk it smooth, then add a bit more, whisk again, etc. til you've added it all. Thanks for the recipe! P.S. I tested this recipe with fat-free half & half and it came out great. You could make this with skim milk too, just cook and stir til it reaches the right thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
YUM! Great basic recipe. I made almost as written except I used garlic powder instead of grated onion and didn't realize I bough 99% fat free broth so I added a chicken boullion cube too. Used it in a spinach/sausage white lasagna and it was FABULOUS. Everyone loved it. Will definately make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
A good, simple base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Made exactly as written except didn't have white pepper so I used black pepper. It turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
grt white sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Loved it added garlic and it was great. Super easy to make a fast and easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States