Bechamel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This sauce saved the day with some dried out rotisserie chicken and microwave broccoli! Stovetop method worked beautifully as written. Thanks for sharing what has now become my go-to sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This is an excellent Bechamel sauce recipe. Please keep in mind that bechamel is a basic sauce meant to be customized. Want less fat, use milk and broth, want a creamier, richer sauce, use cream or half & half. It can be used for savory and for sweet. Season to taste. This sauce made a wonderful base for mac & cheese as well as, a delightful creamed soup base. The possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Gee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
The onions just were horrible. I never use them in my sauce. And instead of the thyme or rosemary.. try a little sweet basil. Just a little or you'll overpower it.. it's light and creamy and for what I use it for mostly, is a Alfredo sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Best white sauce ever! I made it exactly as written and it is wonderful! I served this over bow tie pasta with chicken that I browned in a skillet with garlic, salt, and pepper, along with two cans of mushrooms... It was amazingly good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Nice! Mine was little on the thin side, so next time I would add another tablespoon of flour and that should do the trick. Great flavor! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I've been using this recipe as my Go To basic Bechamel Sauce for any other recipe that requires Bechamel. It's simple to make and has the consistency and delicate taste that I was searching for. I've tried others but in the end I always come back to this one. Thanks Holly for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Used this for a quick pasta sauce on portebello mushroom ravioli. Worked great, will definately make this again. Made it with what I had on hand: chicken broth from cube, 2% milk, dried onion flakes and it was plenty good. Husband tossed a little parmesan cheese in his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Eimann Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This recipe is outstanding! I cooked this for my mom and she loved it (which only happens in rare cases). Although the ingredients used didn't seem that they would taste good together, the final result was absolutely splendid. I highly recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This is a great recipe! i usually use milk instead of cream and it's just as successful. i also added some garlic. i used it as the sauce for my creamy scallop potatoes. Sliced potatoes, bechamel sauce and topped with cheese and a sprinkle of paprika. i sometimes grate the onion into the sauce or put sliced onions between the potato slices (depending if i have to hide the onions from the kids or not)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Yum! I followed another reviewer's suggestion and used 2 cups of milk and a boullion cube instead of the chicken broth and half and half. Made mine on the stovetop. Didn't have thyme, so I used a dash of Italian seasoning. Used onion powder instead of grated onion. Served it on butternut squash ravioli I bought from Costco. Turned out really well! My husband loved it. Tasted just like Lean Cuisine butternut squash ravioli I love. Coulda used some chopped up walnuts in it & it would have been exactly the same. Thanks for the recipe. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States