Bechamel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Nice! Mine was little on the thin side, so next time I would add another tablespoon of flour and that should do the trick. Great flavor! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I've been using this recipe as my Go To basic Bechamel Sauce for any other recipe that requires Bechamel. It's simple to make and has the consistency and delicate taste that I was searching for. I've tried others but in the end I always come back to this one. Thanks Holly for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Used this for a quick pasta sauce on portebello mushroom ravioli. Worked great, will definately make this again. Made it with what I had on hand: chicken broth from cube, 2% milk, dried onion flakes and it was plenty good. Husband tossed a little parmesan cheese in his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This recipe is outstanding! I cooked this for my mom and she loved it (which only happens in rare cases). Although the ingredients used didn't seem that they would taste good together, the final result was absolutely splendid. I highly recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This is a great recipe! i usually use milk instead of cream and it's just as successful. i also added some garlic. i used it as the sauce for my creamy scallop potatoes. Sliced potatoes, bechamel sauce and topped with cheese and a sprinkle of paprika. i sometimes grate the onion into the sauce or put sliced onions between the potato slices (depending if i have to hide the onions from the kids or not)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Yum! I followed another reviewer's suggestion and used 2 cups of milk and a boullion cube instead of the chicken broth and half and half. Made mine on the stovetop. Didn't have thyme, so I used a dash of Italian seasoning. Used onion powder instead of grated onion. Served it on butternut squash ravioli I bought from Costco. Turned out really well! My husband loved it. Tasted just like Lean Cuisine butternut squash ravioli I love. Coulda used some chopped up walnuts in it & it would have been exactly the same. Thanks for the recipe. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Good sauce however, substituted thyme with 1 large bay leaf (thyme can be overpowering for some dishes) and the broth/half-and-half with 2 cups whole milk. Omitted salt (used salted butter) and made a light blonde rue with the butter and flour, created just a bit more character. This recipe is a great starting point for many other sauces. With the addition of other herbs/spices/cheeses you can go to mornay sauce, bernaise sauce and many ohters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I was looking for a cloned recipe for boxed Creamy Chicken Pasta and (after pouring through tons of recipes) stumbled on this. How simple and yet how perfect! Made exactly as directed (only halved for just the 2 of us) and then tossed hot linguini with the bechamel sauce. Absolutely outstanding! I felt the spices were dead on. Thank you so much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Actually, this was a great sauce. I added sauteed mushrooms & peas in butter and tossed in fresh parley in the end. Great last minute dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This is a great basic recipe. It can be spiced up by simply adding your favorite spices. I always use this recipe, i try different spices and different cheeses. Great recipe. I prefer my onion finely chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Makeda

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States