Bechamel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Flavourful recipe. I did use just milk instead of the broth/half-half combination, an added a small teaspoon of chicken stock powder. It is easily altered to give whatever flavor you would like. It thickened easily and as expected, which I really like. It means the proportions of butter, flour and liquid are accurate. Would happily keep using!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocoee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
after adding sauteed garlic,a little more thickening and milk, garlic powder, sliced vienna sausages and cheese filled pasta this turned out to be a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Margaret Warren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmett, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This sauce saved the day with some dried out rotisserie chicken and microwave broccoli! Stovetop method worked beautifully as written. Thanks for sharing what has now become my go-to sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This is an excellent Bechamel sauce recipe. Please keep in mind that bechamel is a basic sauce meant to be customized. Want less fat, use milk and broth, want a creamier, richer sauce, use cream or half & half. It can be used for savory and for sweet. Season to taste. This sauce made a wonderful base for mac & cheese as well as, a delightful creamed soup base. The possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Gee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
The onions just were horrible. I never use them in my sauce. And instead of the thyme or rosemary.. try a little sweet basil. Just a little or you'll overpower it.. it's light and creamy and for what I use it for mostly, is a Alfredo sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Best white sauce ever! I made it exactly as written and it is wonderful! I served this over bow tie pasta with chicken that I browned in a skillet with garlic, salt, and pepper, along with two cans of mushrooms... It was amazingly good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Nice! Mine was little on the thin side, so next time I would add another tablespoon of flour and that should do the trick. Great flavor! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I've been using this recipe as my Go To basic Bechamel Sauce for any other recipe that requires Bechamel. It's simple to make and has the consistency and delicate taste that I was searching for. I've tried others but in the end I always come back to this one. Thanks Holly for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Used this for a quick pasta sauce on portebello mushroom ravioli. Worked great, will definately make this again. Made it with what I had on hand: chicken broth from cube, 2% milk, dried onion flakes and it was plenty good. Husband tossed a little parmesan cheese in his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Eimann Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This recipe is outstanding! I cooked this for my mom and she loved it (which only happens in rare cases). Although the ingredients used didn't seem that they would taste good together, the final result was absolutely splendid. I highly recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States