Becca's Taco Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is our go-to recipe for when my b/f's 11yo daughter is over. It's always a hit. And that's saying a lot. We just throw a little mexi-cheese & sour cream on top, and have it with corn chips. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was so easy and quick to prepare! It was a huge hit. I added more meat (1/2 lb), swapped tomatoes with chilis for tomato sauce and added a strong cup of beef broth. I served this with grated quesadilla cheese, sour cream and fried tortilla strips. And of course, a margarita!!!! Thank you Becca
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Very easy and very filling. I added black beans and a pepper. I also made rice and put the rice in the bowl first and then soup on top, kinda like the do at Qdoba and chipotle. The only thing i will look to change is to add more flavor, not sure if i will use a differ taco seasoning pack or use more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This soup is really good and an excellent, kid-friendly, quick supper. I made it just like the recipe says and it turned out great. Topping it with shredded cheddar and sour cream is a must...it just really blends the flavors and kicks it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by D Andreu
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This was an AWESOME soup...instead of kidney beans (I was out) I used black beans, added diced red and green peppers, and since I can, I used 1/4 a pint of our hot salsa, then topped with a taco and shredded cheddar cheese. I did look at the other reviews and found adding a full package of taco seasoning was a good idea. Next time, I'll use a 1/2 pint of the salsa to make the soup spicier. AWESOME recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I made this for my family and they absolutely love it! I've even given the recipe to a few friends and their families loved it too. Its a great recipe and it is easy to make. Kid friendly too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Kingsland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
super easy is right! I just threw in what I had, a can of tom. sauce, chicken broth, sm. can of paste, can of kidney & black beans, ground beef and onion, and olives! Can't forget the olives! Topped with jalepeno slices, sharp cheddar & sour cream. Ten mins. done. Thanks for all the base alternatives reviewers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daizy7155

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was a very good basic recipe. The instructions were a tad vague, but most people should be able to figure it out. I added some salt, pepper, and chili powder to the meat and onions. I also added the full packet of taco seasoning mix. To the toppings I added a bottle of hot sauce, in case someone wanted it a bit spicier. It is very easy to customize. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I thought this was very good. I made substitutions based upon what I had on hand. Instead of the tomato sauce, I used about 6 oz of tomato paste. I also added a can of black beans and blackeye peas. Based on another reviewers suggestion I added the entire package of taco seasoning. It was really excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Becca You ROCK! This soup is awesome! I did change it a bit from some of the reviews but I feel sure that even if it is prepared just as you have it that it would be just perfect. The changes I made were to add beef broth instead of the tomato sauce and I pureed canned tomatoes instead of tomato juice so it would have a heartier consistency. I also added 1/2 the taco mis to the burger when I browned it and then used the remaining as your recipe instructs. Then I made a couple of servings of white rice and added it in at the end. So it was quite a bit thicker than your recipe would make, I'm sure but we all ate it until we were about to pop. Thank you! I am sure I will make this alot. By the way it's really easy and you would generally have all of this stuff on hand in a typical kitchen anyway which is MAJOR bonus points for me. I HATE having to prepare and shop especially for a recipe. BECCA ROCKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma4Lyfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States