Becca's Potato Bacon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Thank you for this recipe. I went to a restaurant and had a similar soup, inspiring me to look for a good recipe. I added broccoli for colour, and ended up creating a soup that easily beats the rival. Ham works well for this too! Didn't need to add salt, it was flavorful enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Dupe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by westoncorliss
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Absolutely great! Used grated sharp cheddar cheese instead of American.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Delicious a great afternoon snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Love this recipe. Easy to cook and personalize. I used precooked bacon and added some garlic. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Creamy soup and very easy, used red potatoes and did not bother to peel them. Also used celery (lightly sautéed it with onion in a little butter) before adding broth and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I have no idea why, but this soup reminded me so much of the dry soup mixes in the packets in taste. It is really easy to make and it is thick and creamy. Upon the suggestions by the submitter, I did cut the potatoes into very large chunks. I am glad I did because there would have been no potato pieces left. I was surprised by the 47% percent sodium level. I ended up using a thin cut pre-cooked bacon, which worked fine. To reduce the sodium further, I mixed up my own broth using broth paste at a ratio of 2tsp per 4 cups of water instead of the 4 tsp. suggested. The soup was still plenty salty. I thought I had green onions, but didn't see any and added about 1 Tblsp. of dried chives to the soup. I am waiting for it to cool, but it will probably be good with some shredded cheddar or croutons. It looks filling. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Mmm mmm. Awesome recipe! I used yukon gold potatoes and only had a red onion. I also used fresh parsley not dried and followed the notes of the submitter and subbed 2 cups shredded colby jack for the american slices. I think the green onion garnish is necessary for some added texture. Thanks for sharing Radical Reebs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Delicious and easy...a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Made it exactly as recipe stated except I put actual celery in with the onion and carrots and left out the celery seed. Delicious. Great heated up the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Ambrose Rokitowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States