Becca's Custom Turkey Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Last year, I prepared this for "Deer Camp" and thought 2 pies would be enough...silly me. It was such a hit that I'm making 6 pies this year for the same number of men (and woman - me)!!! Tasty AND healthy - can't beat that!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This is a really great hearty recipe--I've served it to guests several times, and it's always a hit on cold days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
This recipe is awesome! I made it as a make-ahead for a busy day and my family was delighted with it (of course those picky kids with vegetable issues were standoffish!)I am sharing it with all my friends! Thanks Becca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
DELICIOUS - a great departure from the standard beef shepherd's pie. Vary the veggies for different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
This recipe has become a staple at my house- and my family typically doesn't care for Shepherds Pie! It goes together easily and is just as good reheated. Thanks, Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
Great for make ahead dinners. Very nutrious and delicious! :-) I modified it for husband/child taste -- eliminated yellow squash, added corn. Fun to try different veggies. I find I must cook much longer for the pie crust to cook all the way. Otherwise, crust tends to be quite 'doughy.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Ok so I don't know if I can really review this recipe because I TOTALLY changed it! LOL! But it still turned out really good because I used the recipe as a base. I skipped the crust to start. I used fresh green beans (steamed them for 5-7 minutes then threw them in the skillet with everything else), celery, carrots and towards the end of the skilleting, added most of a can of corn (so no zucchini or mushrooms - we don't like them). Otherwise, I did everything the same - I just added a little more thyme and also some Italian seasoning. I'd say the cheese layer is a must - it was so yummy. Oh and be careful not to make the potato topping too thick. Overall, fantastic meal that we both loved!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I was determined to make dinner tonight without having to run to store for ingredients. Found this and hit paydirt. I susbstitued corn for zucchini, and omitted the piecrust, and put it in oven for my husband and children while I went to church. I returned home later to "mom, I LOVED the Shepherd's Pie" and "Honey, that was the best Shepherd's Pie you've ever made!" (I had to remind my husband that this was my first Shepherd's Pie, but you get the point.) Thanks, Becca. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Absolutely delicious! Instead of red potatoes, I used a regular baking potato as well as half of a sweet potato. I used fresh green beans instead of canned, frozen green peas in place of the zucchini, and mozzarella cheese instead of cheddar. I eliminated the butter and flour altogether, and I didn't use a crust, but this recipe still turned out to be a success! My friends and I finished all of it in one evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I love this recipe. I didn't have any Zucchini so I used asparagus which was also delicious. I've also thrown a yam in there which I boiled with the potatoes and diced up after it was cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benettigravyboat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States