Becca's Custom Turkey Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Wasn´t very creamy but I liked it a lot and thought it was great for a healthier recipe. I made the whole wheat pie crust from another recipe on this site, lined a 9by13" pan and this recipe just filled that. I used corn instead of the green beans and mozarrela instead of Cheddar (no Cheddar cheese in Chile :() Enjoyed the recipe and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
This was okay, but just barely. The only change I made was that I skipped the pie crust. It was SO dry. It may be better with a little turkey gravy thrown over the top or maybe creamed soup like others suggested. It had a very earthy flavor. My non-picky 4 year old didn't like it. My husband thought it was 'edible', but was in no hurry to take leftovers for lunch the next day. I froze one of the pies for later use and will definitely make gravy when I use it to 'save' it, but will not make this again. In a nut shell, for us it was dry and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This is a decent recipe that's healthy and easy to prepare. The filling was a bit too dry and crumbly - next time, I might try adding just a few spoons of cream soup. I used canned corn, and did not add the carrot, zucchini, and green beans. 2 red potatoes would have been more than sufficient for one pie... I ended up with too thick a potato layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
it was great! I made no variations but next time I will use peas instead of green beans. I did use deep pie crust and froze the 2nd pie. Key is to use fresh parsley. It had great flavor. My only complaint is that this is NOT a 15 min recipe (which is were I found but a great make ahead meal) - more like 60 min plus 30 min bake time. Despite that, I will made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Absolutely delicious! Instead of red potatoes, I used a regular baking potato as well as half of a sweet potato. I used fresh green beans instead of canned, frozen green peas in place of the zucchini, and mozzarella cheese instead of cheddar. I eliminated the butter and flour altogether, and I didn't use a crust, but this recipe still turned out to be a success! My friends and I finished all of it in one evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I was determined to make dinner tonight without having to run to store for ingredients. Found this and hit paydirt. I susbstitued corn for zucchini, and omitted the piecrust, and put it in oven for my husband and children while I went to church. I returned home later to "mom, I LOVED the Shepherd's Pie" and "Honey, that was the best Shepherd's Pie you've ever made!" (I had to remind my husband that this was my first Shepherd's Pie, but you get the point.) Thanks, Becca. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Ok so I don't know if I can really review this recipe because I TOTALLY changed it! LOL! But it still turned out really good because I used the recipe as a base. I skipped the crust to start. I used fresh green beans (steamed them for 5-7 minutes then threw them in the skillet with everything else), celery, carrots and towards the end of the skilleting, added most of a can of corn (so no zucchini or mushrooms - we don't like them). Otherwise, I did everything the same - I just added a little more thyme and also some Italian seasoning. I'd say the cheese layer is a must - it was so yummy. Oh and be careful not to make the potato topping too thick. Overall, fantastic meal that we both loved!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
Great for make ahead dinners. Very nutrious and delicious! :-) I modified it for husband/child taste -- eliminated yellow squash, added corn. Fun to try different veggies. I find I must cook much longer for the pie crust to cook all the way. Otherwise, crust tends to be quite 'doughy.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Last year, I prepared this for "Deer Camp" and thought 2 pies would be enough...silly me. It was such a hit that I'm making 6 pies this year for the same number of men (and woman - me)!!! Tasty AND healthy - can't beat that!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
I used refrigerated pie crusts and instant mashed potatoes as time savers. Flavor is really good, my husband and I liked it but the kids were so-so on it. Froze the second pie to have on hand for an easy dinner - tasted fine reheated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States