Becca's Barbequed Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This recipe~~very simple, but to me, it was okay, there is room for adjustments, while the kids totally liked it, hubby said it was fine(which means~~just okay). I was on the fence because even though it was hearty and thick, for I felt the sweetness over-powered the loads of meat. Either reduce the ground beef & let the beans shine OR add savory seasonings to cut the sweetness & let the meat shine. I'd have to play around with the recipe to customize the flavor combination if I make again. Thanks though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This is a great recipe, everyone loved it. I hate to review using substitutes BUT I used Sweet Italian Turkey Sausage in place of the meat. I prepped and refrigerated it the day before and then cooked it up in my crock pot - on low - for 4 hours. Perfect to serve with Chef John's Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Giulianotti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poway, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I had intended on halving this recipe for the two of us to have as a main dish for lunch but discovered I had a 28 ounce can of baked beans. Therefore I only put 3/4 pound of ground beef in it but followed the recipe other than that. I happened to pick up Hot bbq sauce so it had a bit of a kick and we ate it like chili with cheese and onions on top. Husband loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I thought these were tasty. Made with out the meat and used vegetarian beans instead of pork n beans. Double it up and I am happy with the ease and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Have made this for years and it's yummy! I get lots of compliments with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This was a great recipe! I did not change anything and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This is my favorite bbq bean recipe with a few changes. We don't eat pork so I made some modifications. I used vegetarian bbq beans instead of pork-n-beans. I did the vinegar substitute for the pickles (thanks for the suggestion!). I also added 1 cup of onions and 1 cup of green peppers and sauteed them first, and used turkey sausage instead of the ground beef, sautee-ing it with the onions/green peppers. I increased the bbq sauce to 1 cup and added 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Took it to a picnic and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Excellent recipe. I replaced the relish with acv.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
This was really good! Just let it simmer on the stove top to let everything heat/blend. Took the lid off for a few minutes to let it thicken up a little more. Used honey baked beans and honey barbeque sauce (we love honey!). Tasted even better with a little cheddar mixed in. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Delicious recipe for dinner or picnics. If you don't want to add the pickles, add a 1/4 cup of vinegar and increase the onions to half a cup instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bohemia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States