Beautiful Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Pretty good! I can only award three stars based on my initial impression, but with a few tweaks, this could be 5 star quality (hence my 4 star rating). I love all of the components of this salad and think they work well together, but to my surprise I didn't care for the balsamic vinaigrette at all. The tart balsamic and pungent, tangy feta was just plain overkill. I think I would prefer a blush wine or raspberry vinaigrette or blue cheese paired with the balsamic instead. I will definitely try one or all of those substitutions next time. All in all, this was super yummy, but a little of a disappointment after adding the balsamic. Thanks Wendy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Very good recipe family loved it, used toasted pecans and arugla, since that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This was a good recipe to begin with, but I changed it up to our liking and have been eating it every single Friday night for... I lose count of the years! I use (in this order) bagged "tender baby lettuces", red onion, bacon bits, feta cheese, dried cranberries, walnuts, mandarins, and Newmans - fat free raspberry vinaigrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Vanover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
amazing salad! i went strictly by the recipe and used my cranberries that i keep soaking in seven-up in the refrigerator, trick i learned from a restaurant in california. rather than shriveled and dry they are plump and juicy with juicy freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I love this recipe. I add any kind of fruit I have at home. The mandarin oranges are good but add some strawberries and dark purple grapes and you have a feast for a king. I vary the nuts too.I make a quick vinaigrette with honey,apple cider vinegar, mint, and a good fruity olive oil.Really love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Pretty and Tasty. I didn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOODLESTEACHES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Loved it! Even my husband who doesn't always enjoy salads, wanted seconds! I used a spring mix of lettuce and skipped the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Super easy and very tasty! I used bleu cheese instead of feta and needed very little dressing. 1 cup would be WAY too much. I suggest tossing everything and then adding dressing to taste and tossing again before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Delicious salad, and beautiful - like the title!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Loved this salad. Made the Honey Roasted Almonds from this site to go with it. Used shallots instead of red onion, otherwise made as directed. Thank you Wendy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victory Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States