Beaufort Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I love Beaufort, SC. Very quaint and friendly. Its like a miniature Charleston. I like the sounds of your recipe. Very much like New England coastal towns recipes. This one sounds very easy to do, and I know I will like it. Thanks so much from, Janine Suzanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I used about 3 quarts of water, 1/4 cup of Old Bay seasoning and 5-6 dashes of hot sauce. Then boiled the onion, potatoes, corn until done, then added shrimp and boiled for about 3 more minutes. Absolutely perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Excellent! Even my picky husband liked it! I was trying pieces as it cooked (I have no patience) and wasn't sure how good it was going to be. But, in the end it was fantastic. The whole was better than the sum of the parts. We used corn off the cob, because that's what I had, which broke tradition, but turned out pretty nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Instead of water we substituted cheap beer for that added taste! And Old Bay seasoning. Nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Bruns Schrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This is a great SC recipe, a staple at our house! Couple of pointers -- add the corn just before the shrimp so it doesn't overcook. This is typically served on a picnic table covered with newspaper and eaten with your hands. When finished, roll up the mess and toss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Excellent! My sister-in=law does this every new year. I did as suggested and waited to put in corn with shrimp. 3 T of old bay was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This is a favorite at our house, too, and a staple meal for anyone from the SC Lowcountry! My son has been requesting it for dinner since before he could even say "sausage" and it's always been his favorite. I agree with others who suggest waiting to add the corn until just before the shrimp, otherwise it will overcook while you wait for the potatoes to cook thoroughly. And a tablespoon or two of Old Bay really does give it just the right taste! Another option is to brown the smoked sausage slices before adding them in with the potatoes. We prefer it that way. A great meal to serve outdoors, and with lots of napkins, as you eat the shrimp and corn with your hands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Yea, I also cooked the potatoes for about 20 minutes before, added shrimp and corn last. Substituted Old Bay or Pappy's Seasoning (thought I had Old Bay but didn't), also added Onion Powder, Salt, Pepper, No Salt Seasoning and this turned out GREATTT! My boyfriend (who is picky by the way) loved it and told me to definitely save that recipe, so this was definitely a biggggg Hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I was in the Air Force Reserves in Charleston, SC and cooked this many times for our unit. The most we cooked for was 500 people! We used the large bag of Zatarans shrimp and crab boil and everyone loved the taste it added. For a large group we used the following formula. This is a per person calculation so just multiply the number of people times each of the items and it works out great. 1/2 pound shrimp 1/2 pound sausage (we used Andouille or smoked Kielbasa) 1 ear of corn 1 potato (or 3 to 4 small red potatoes) 1 large onion Served with sweet tea or ice cold beer!!! We used the pour over newspaper on picnic tables method of serving. Be sure to put out plenty of rolls of paper towels to use for napkins. This is the low country at its best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
we cook with mushrooms and also the dollar bag o shrimp at walmart works good just add last min and i put butter on my vegetables .. add alot of smoke sausage thats our favorite infact im making right now here in sc lol hugs kat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA
Living In: Pelion, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States