Beaufort Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
We started cooking the potatoes first because we knew they would take more than ten minutes and then added the sausage. The shrimp and corn went in together along with the little neck clams we decided to include in this amazing dinner. We fed a crowd of thirteen people while on vacation last week and everyone raved about this great summer dish. A salad and a loaf of crusty bread rounded out this authentic southern meal. Give it a try, there's nothing not to like. Thanks so much Kim!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This is a great SC recipe, a staple at our house! Couple of pointers -- add the corn just before the shrimp so it doesn't overcook. This is typically served on a picnic table covered with newspaper and eaten with your hands. When finished, roll up the mess and toss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I used about 3 quarts of water, 1/4 cup of Old Bay seasoning and 5-6 dashes of hot sauce. Then boiled the onion, potatoes, corn until done, then added shrimp and boiled for about 3 more minutes. Absolutely perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was a good recipe, but I should have read the other reviews and added the corn at the end. The corn in mine was overdone. Other than that it was very good. I put about 2 T Old Bay seasoning in - not the 3 oz that the recipe called for. That seemed like too much to me. I might add 3 T next time, but it was still good. Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I was in the Air Force Reserves in Charleston, SC and cooked this many times for our unit. The most we cooked for was 500 people! We used the large bag of Zatarans shrimp and crab boil and everyone loved the taste it added. For a large group we used the following formula. This is a per person calculation so just multiply the number of people times each of the items and it works out great. 1/2 pound shrimp 1/2 pound sausage (we used Andouille or smoked Kielbasa) 1 ear of corn 1 potato (or 3 to 4 small red potatoes) 1 large onion Served with sweet tea or ice cold beer!!! We used the pour over newspaper on picnic tables method of serving. Be sure to put out plenty of rolls of paper towels to use for napkins. This is the low country at its best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Excellent! Even my picky husband liked it! I was trying pieces as it cooked (I have no patience) and wasn't sure how good it was going to be. But, in the end it was fantastic. The whole was better than the sum of the parts. We used corn off the cob, because that's what I had, which broke tradition, but turned out pretty nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Instead of water we substituted cheap beer for that added taste! And Old Bay seasoning. Nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This is a favorite at our house, too, and a staple meal for anyone from the SC Lowcountry! My son has been requesting it for dinner since before he could even say "sausage" and it's always been his favorite. I agree with others who suggest waiting to add the corn until just before the shrimp, otherwise it will overcook while you wait for the potatoes to cook thoroughly. And a tablespoon or two of Old Bay really does give it just the right taste! Another option is to brown the smoked sausage slices before adding them in with the potatoes. We prefer it that way. A great meal to serve outdoors, and with lots of napkins, as you eat the shrimp and corn with your hands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Excellent! My sister-in=law does this every new year. I did as suggested and waited to put in corn with shrimp. 3 T of old bay was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I used this recipe and another for chicken bog for a catering for 100 and both were terrific! I used "Old Bay" (our regional favorite) for the seasoning and it could not have been better. Thanks Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States