Beaufort Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Corn needed a little more time, and my family would have liked some chicken in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
The real name for this dish is Frogmore stew. I make it all the time and it's a huge hit with my family. When I'm making it for company I add a few bunches of crab legs to it to make it authentic and it never fails to be a hit. Fresh Cilantro, Parsley, and Basil add just the right touch to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This is a favorite at our house, too, and a staple meal for anyone from the SC Lowcountry! My son has been requesting it for dinner since before he could even say "sausage" and it's always been his favorite. I agree with others who suggest waiting to add the corn until just before the shrimp, otherwise it will overcook while you wait for the potatoes to cook thoroughly. And a tablespoon or two of Old Bay really does give it just the right taste! Another option is to brown the smoked sausage slices before adding them in with the potatoes. We prefer it that way. A great meal to serve outdoors, and with lots of napkins, as you eat the shrimp and corn with your hands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Excellent! My sister-in=law does this every new year. I did as suggested and waited to put in corn with shrimp. 3 T of old bay was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This is a great SC recipe, a staple at our house! Couple of pointers -- add the corn just before the shrimp so it doesn't overcook. This is typically served on a picnic table covered with newspaper and eaten with your hands. When finished, roll up the mess and toss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
My husband really liked this recipe. It is kind of like gumbo. I used a few different items because of what was on hand. The and shrimp seasoning mix.....I used Old Bay. Instead of corn on the cob....I used whole kernal corn from a can. I also had to use previously frozen shrimp from the prepackaged stuff at the store. I don't eat seafood, but again, my husband thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliann11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Instead of water we substituted cheap beer for that added taste! And Old Bay seasoning. Nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Excellent! Even my picky husband liked it! I was trying pieces as it cooked (I have no patience) and wasn't sure how good it was going to be. But, in the end it was fantastic. The whole was better than the sum of the parts. We used corn off the cob, because that's what I had, which broke tradition, but turned out pretty nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I used about 3 quarts of water, 1/4 cup of Old Bay seasoning and 5-6 dashes of hot sauce. Then boiled the onion, potatoes, corn until done, then added shrimp and boiled for about 3 more minutes. Absolutely perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was a good recipe, but I should have read the other reviews and added the corn at the end. The corn in mine was overdone. Other than that it was very good. I put about 2 T Old Bay seasoning in - not the 3 oz that the recipe called for. That seemed like too much to me. I might add 3 T next time, but it was still good. Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States